Easy Microwave Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I tried this recipe last night and it was not to my liking. Even with the addition of sugar and extra chocolate. The only good part of this was the texture. Will not make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Resizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Addison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Definitely satisfied our chocolate craving. I made it without looking at the reviews first because I was in a rush doing it during commercial breaks while watching TV. I didn't have any whole eggs so I used Egg Beaters. It came out great! It does make a lot even for 2 people. It definitely needed more chocolate flavor so next time I will use more cocoa powder (with extra sugar to counter the bitterness) or melted chocolate. It deserves 5 stars for being so easy, but I took it down 1 star for flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchcityhomes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This does what you need it to do at 1 am. I added the suggestions of using 3/4 cup of sugar and 1 more spoon of cocoa. It actually has a better than average taste. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
When you have a chocolate attack, this recipe does the trick. Eaten right away, this cake is moist and chocolaty, but if left to sit, it will dry out. After reading all the reviews, I made some changes: increase sugar and cocoa and add chocolate chips. I did use Splenda Blend Sugar (1/4 cup) and dutch cocoa (4 level T.). The result hit the spot and quelled my chocolate craving...for now! Thanks for the recipe Laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I craved a chocy-cake but have no milk or sugar at home. Not a roblem though: I substituted milk and sugar with philadelhia fat-free cream cheese and a wee bit of water(just to loosen it up) and two stevia-packages (I love sweet, sweet,sweet!). Use only 1 tbsp of french cocoa too. Excellent with a tasty strawberry preserve spread on it... No other changes: I used everything else as the recipe on those webpage prescribed. I'm very happy to try other variations: coconut or lemon next!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I had about 1/2 cup of leftover coconut pecan icing in the refrigerator that I wanted to use so when I came across this recipe, I thought the portion would be perfect. It could not have been better. I hand mixed all the ingredients in a 2 qt mixing bowl and put it in the microwave. After about 3 minutes, I took it out and let it set for another 3 minutes. Since I used the original mixing bowl, I had to use a spatula to loosen the cake around the edges and bottom but it came out fine. I iced it with my leftover icing and the taste, texture and flavor was just like a store-bought german chocolate cake. This is not a gourmet cake for company but it a great substitute when you want something sweet. The cake itself would not have been sweet enough for my tastes but with the icing it was perfect. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Pretty good! I'm a big baker, so I wasn't expecting a microwave cake to be so moist. I followed others' reviews and used 3/4 cups sugar and 3 Tbsp. cocoa, but I think I'll reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup next time. Nice quick treat that doesn't heat up the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crissy Nour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
It wasn't awesome but not terrible either. I found the cake too spongy. My husband enjoyed it but I really didn't. I'd try playing with the cooking time if I make it again since it might be the microwave not the actual recipe. The flavor was pretty good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I'm only giving it 4 stars because I did add the 1TB cocoa and 1/2 c. sugar instead of what the recipe calls for. But really moist and made enough for 3 servings for me. Great chocolate fix! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodObsessedMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I had one of those "Can't Function Without Chocolate" moments and this cake did just the trick! Reading the recipe I was scared it would be dry as some of these mircowave cakes are, but this wasnt! I added an extra T cocoa and extra 1/2 C as other recommended and the cake was moist, fluffy, chocolatey and decadent. Will definitely make it again! Hmm but after looking at the Nutrition Facts not TOO soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States