Easy Microwave Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
For a microwave cake it isn't too bad. It was really dense. Maybe because I didn't have any baking powder. Anyhow, it was very chocolately and fast. Great if you're in a hurry. I also added a bit more sugar and cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Needed a quick fix... this worked great. Added choc chips and sprayed the dish that I used well with Pam. I made a chocolate ganache to drizzle over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I am pretty sure that this was my microwave's fault (good old student housing), but mine turned out like soup with a layer of cake on top after 2 and 1/2 minutes. Do I wish I'd cooked it longer? HECK NO! It was the most delicious, gooey thing I have had in a long time. My chocolate craving was more than satisfied, and my roommates had to finish it off for me. I took others' suggestions and added the extra sugar and cocoa powder, and it was heaven. Ten stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I made this cake yesterday since we just moved and don't have a stove yet I have no other way to cook than a mircowave. It was great! Much better than I expected. It's dense like a brownie and tasted delicious with chocolate frosting. I used Betty Crocker rich and creamy chocolate. I prefer dense cakes to light airy ones anyway. I did take the suggestions listed and increase sugar. I used 3/4 cup and doubled the recipe for the entire cake, which fit nicely into a square 8x8in pan. My microwave is a little slow so I cooked it for 6 minutes..perfect! This was so easy for someone who doesn't bake often like myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sahaaya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Being a college student means having no time so this recipe is perfect! It's quick and easy and tastes good. I would have given it 5 stars except I had to tweek it a bit. I added 1/2 cup sugar as many people recommended which still wasn't quite sweet enough so the next time I made it, i threw in a hand full of chocolate chips and it made all the difference. If you make the whole recipe though, it's very large. I make about 1/3 of the portion each time and it makes a large soup bowl full already. Saying that, since I didn't make the full portion, the microwave time is much less. I cooked it for 2.5 mintues and it became a rock. For 1/3 of the portion, 1.75 minutes is plenty. It also rises quite a bit so remember not to fill your bowl to the top, you need a larger bowl. Don't forget to grease your bowl too.. I had a hard time taking it out when I didn't grease it enough. Other than that, the cake is very yummy and convenient. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I had some issues getting it to turn from batter to actually cake, but it's so freaking good I don't even care. Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellygreen49

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Well this is an amazing recipe! Did increase the sugar to 1/2 cup as others suggested and also upped it to 3 TABLESPOONS cocoa and it came out good. Lets face it, while it may not be the cake you bake for the next birthday party when it's 9:30 at night and you're wondering why you were so virtious and diet conscious at the grocery store and didn't buy ANY chocolate goodies, NADA --- nothing in the house---this quick little cake does the trick and does it quite nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
easy to make and there's only a bowl and a few spoons to clean up will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hougang, North-East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Perfectly satisfied the chocolate craving of my family of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
just micro-ed it now.. smells.. very good, used lindtt's orange chocolate thins instead of coco, and put probably a bit more butter then needed.. really really moist... also substituted the egg with bk powder, milk and oil - still waiting for it to cool.. verdict *after 5 minutes* EXTREMELYYYY moist and OOOOoooo so delicious, not for the type that loves sweet, because it has a minor orangy tang to it, and just a little sweet at the end.. yumm! thanks for the reciepe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States