Easy Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
I first tried the recipe as someone suggested, by adding the tomato sauce at the bigining along with the seasonings. Because I used the regular brown rice and not the instant,it didn't get done . It took something like 2 hours to cook it, I think it has something to do with the acid in the tomatoes..I am going to try it again and wait to add the sauce at the end like the original recipes says. (I also found the tomato flavor a little much, so next time about half the tomato and sauce )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I made THREE revisions to this recipe and it worked out quite well: 1) I didn't have taco seasoning mix, so made my own seasoning packet consisting of 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/4 teaspoon black pepper, 1/2 teaspoon cumin, and 1 teaspoon Kosher salt. I added these seasonings to the boiling water to cook with the rice. 2) I added two tablespoons of tomato paste into the water to cook with the rice (and left the tomato sauce and diced tomatoes out of the recipe). 3) I used black beans instead of kidney beans. The flavor was EXCELLENT. My rice, however, was undercooked after 45 minutes, so I suppose I will have to simmer at a higher heat next time. As someone else has suggested, the rice can also be used as a delicious filling for burritos. I will definitely be making this again, and again! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
This was really good but kinda salty. I might not use tomato paste next time or at least use the no salt added kind. Overall this was yummy. I might add a can of white corn next time for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
There was just too much tomato taste for us. I will try this again and just add a can of Rotel tomatoes, also substitute black beans for the kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This was easy, but didn't taste like any sort of Mexican rice I've ever had. Too soupy and tomatoey, not nearly spicy enough. Won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
I thought this recipe had way too much tomato flavor - would suggest only one can of tomato sauce maybe - and could use much more lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
Oh, my goodness, where do I start. I love this dip. (For that's what it became when I made it.) I used black beans instead of kidney, my tomatoes did not have chile peppers in them, and I dipped tortilla chips in it. It was fantastic. I will so be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
Very fast and easy. This is a good recipe to have for one of those days you can't decide what to have for dinner. I had all the ingredients on hand! I added the lettuce after it was all cooked though. I like the contrast of cold and hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAYMEPOOH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Staffordsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
This is a super easy and tasty burrito stuffer. As previously suggested I cooked the rice with the tomato sauce and taco seasoning. I, also, added about a cup of frozen corn, a small can of chopped black olives and I used a large fresh tomato instead of the can of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Chestertown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
This was really good! I used white basmati rice as I didn't have brown, used pinto beans in lieu of kidney and had to ditch the tomatoes 'cos I didn't have that either. However, just using the tomato sauce with the addition of a can of enchilada sauce, and our favorite spice; cayenne, we all loved this. Good recipe HeatheR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States