Easy Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I tried this recipe out on some family members that came over for a grill. It was a huge hit. I will be making it on Sunday for my granddaughters baptism party. We are doing a Mexican grill party with Carne Asada, this rice dish and etc. etc. Thank you for sharing this with all of us. Oh, I too added all ingredients to the water with the rice (omitting the shredded lettuce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was great! I gave it a 4 because I made some changes. I sauteed some onion, garlic and 1/2 head of green cabbage in canola oil until soft, added the rice and taco seasoning and sauteed then added the water and beans. After the rice was cooked, I added some frozen peas and a can of tomatoes with jalapenos (I think an additional can of tomato sauce would have been too much tomato). It turned out great! Made a lot of food, my hubby loved it and we used it as burrito filling! Very healthy, cheap and satisfying-thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. I followed another reviewer's suggestion to add in the tomato ingredients in the beginning, which seemed to make the rice simultaneously raw and burnt. I will make this again to see if the original method works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Very tasty. It does make quite a bit of rice though, so either halve the recipe, or invite the neighbours! My 10-year old son thought that added corn niblets might be a nice added touch and I think I agree. We'll try that the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Sigh. I really, really WANTED to like this. It was just a big ball of tomato-flavored mush, and leftovers were even worse. No one in my household wanted more than a few bites. And it definitely made too much, to boot. I won't be making this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I usually just make a boxed Mexican rice for the sake of easy prep. This was better than the boxed stuff and just as easy. And I like that it is whole grain. Next time I will use tomatoes with green chilis. I did not stir in the lettuce. This make a huge amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
One of my favorite dishes to make. For me being "Semi-vegetarian" this can go as a whole dinner for me (it has protein carbs, and veggies in it). I like my food a little spicy, so I add a few sprinkles of cayenne pepper to the rice when I add in the taco seasoning mix. yummmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Lois
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Good stuff! Didn't have packaged taco seasoning so I added garlic powder, cayenne, salt, pepper, oregano, chili powder to season. Tasted great! Had a little kick but that was of my own doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GospelSingerGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
i was pleasantly surprised by this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Another adaptation: Omit the tomatoes, paste, and taco seasoning, and substitute your favorite salsa! I used Nature's Promise medium, added some shredded cheese, and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine and Matthew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States