Easy Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This stuff is so amazing! I added 2 T of homemade taco seasoning to the rice while it was cooking; I also left out the tomato sauce. I don't think it would have been necessary. I did not cook the lettuce, instead lining a flour tortilla with it before topping with the rice mixture, some cheese, and some fresh cilantro. Better than Chipotle! Update: made this again, this time used the tomato sauce but not the diced tomatoes. Turned out soupier and I didn't like it as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Good, but a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
this was a good recipe and my family liked it. i changed and added some ground beef and the taste was wonderfull
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YECKIE MOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
So, so easy and yummy, too! As the description suggests, this recipe was altered easily to what I had on hand but I followed the gist of the recipe. The best mexican rice I've made and, by far, the fastest and easiest! I had leftover brown rice (~1.5 cups) that needed to get used up. I sauteed some chopped onion, red and orange pepper, and a handful of chopped fresh tomatoes until all was tender. I added my rice, and poured in some leftover italian flavored tomato sauce, basil, oregano and garlic I think (b/c that is what I had on hand!) I had a tablespoon of chopped cilantro that I needed to use after making burritos, so I threw that in with some leftover canned corn (I usually do not care for canned corn...), and probably 1/3 can of pinto beans I had in the fridge. I sprinkled taco seasoning to taste as well as salt and pepper and I enjoyed this more than the burrito. Thanks for the great recipe and suggesting that it is practically made to be altered to your tastes or what you have on hand! I was worried about my tomato sauce, but it had all the tex-mexican flavoring that I hoped for. Yummy! Great way to use up leftover ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was great! we had burrito's with it. I didn't have any tomatoes, so I just used the tomatoe sauce, threw a bit of colby jack in and it was yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
The rice was great. The recipe could serve an army and I was only making it for myself. I originally left the lettuce out, but added some to my plate and I loved it. I used black beans in place of the kidney beans. I wanted mine a little more spicy so I added some hot sauce, mmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
The only things I did differently were to use canned corn instead of kidney beans, and I sprinkled the shredded lettuce on top. I served it with Chicken Flautas from this site. A nice meal! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Excellent recipe if you cook the rice in the tomatoes and sauce instead of just water. I decreased the water and used Ro-Tel tomatoes since my family likes things spicy. And I've used every bean imaginable for this dish, except the kidney bean. Just our preference. Very tasty and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This was a great recipe! I used black beans and didn't use lettuce. I also used RoTel tomatoes to give it a little kick! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States