Easy Mexican Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This turned out much better than I thought it would. Because I had some time this morning, I mixed everything except the milk and water together in a saucepan, turned on the heat, and then gradually whisked in a cup of milk (no water. I was only using skim milk anyway). This avoided any clumping, and made it nice and frothy. Thanks, Sheldyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Good hot chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
I always wondered what the chili powder would do for the hot chocolate, it adds a great kick. It may seem odd at first, but it tastes more like cinnamon when mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Very good!! This is a nice alternative to plain old hot chocolate. Rich and deep flavors with a little bit of spice :) I added some rum flavoring to my cup ;)yummmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This was a great recipe, and could be made quickely and easily. I just felt that it wasn't chocolaty enough, but more sugary, though it was still definitely worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This tasted really quite rich and chocolately, but I didn't like that the cinnamon and chili powder doesn't dissolve, so it sticks around at the top of the glass and makes it unpleasant to drink. I think I'll try this again, but strain it before I drink it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
This really is good(and simple)! It reminds me of Farmer Brothers Monterey Hot Chocolate (which I love, and they don't stock it in the grocery store, only at a cafe I've been to). So it's great that now I can make it at home! :) Also, I used a 1/2 cup of milk instead of the 1/4 cup, then 1/2 cup of water instead of the 3/4 cup. I do think that next time though I'll add the water first before adding the milk. When I added the milk first(like it says to) then added the water, everything was all clumpy. So I had to stick it back in the microwave for another minute. It still turned out very good though. And definately a keeper! I can't wait for it to get cold outside again to have it more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
tasty, easy recipe using on-hand ingredients! I used a full cup of milk for more creaminess and melted a little chocolate in a mug to substitute for the syrup, as I had none on hand. reminded me a little of chai. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
This is a great recipe! I used only milk, no water so really creamy. I made one cup as my family turned up their noses at the ingredients. Guess what, after a taste I was making three more cups so I could finish my own, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
WOW!! This is it -- the taste I've been searching for!! (I recently watched the movie Chocolat and wondered about the hot chocolate that Johnny was loving.) Now I'm loving it too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hibbing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States