Easy Mexican Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Wow~so easy and so delicious. I had been eyeing this recipe for awhile, and even though it's over 90 degrees, I finally had to make it and I LOVED it. My husband tasted it and loved it too. Thank you for the simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This is yum. You have to be careful about it being too powdery tasting though. Stir the powder into a paste with a little hot water in a large round bowl first or oce you add the milk stick it all in your blender then add the boiling water. The last cup tasted the best and I used a pinch of cajun spice mix because it's all I had. tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This was a very simple recipe. I used milk only and I used one tablespoon of regular cocoa plus two and a half tablespoons of chocolate milk mix to the recipe. Along with the cinnamon and spices it turned out just great! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holcomb, Missouri, USA
Living In: Rovaniemi, Lappi, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This recipe was the best hot chocolate I've ever had. I did mix up my own hot chocolate mix instead of instant. And I topped it with marshmallows, its perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minty-green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I loved this. The cinnamon added a nice warm taste and the chili powder wasn't really noticible. Great for dressing up plain hot chocolate! Thanks, I enjoyed this sooooo much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I came across this recipe looking for something else, and I decided to give it a try. I followed the recipe except I substituted 1 Tbsp coffee syrup instead of chocolate syrup and I added 1/8 cp milk and 1/8 cup cream instead of 1/4 cp milk. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I had a "Chocolat" moment as soon as I drank this hot chocolate! I love that movie so much that I have it. It super easy to make and super good. The smell of cinnamon opens up your senses, the hint of chili in your throat feels so good! I used regular cocoa and california chili powder. Next time I'm adding New Mexico, I wanted more spice, just my personal taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariela Does Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This was a big hit with my Junior troop (girl scouts). They had a blast guessing the "secret" ingredient (chili powder). Only complaint was that after sitting it seems to separate and there is a rather unappetizing sludge at the bottom - I think this is one drink that has to be drunk immediately, not allowed to sit (ours was made ahead of time and kept warm in a crockpot for about 45 minutes). Even whisking it back together to serve didn't eliminate the eventual sludge. I would make it again, definitely, but to drink right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
i have been trying to find a hot chocolate recipe with chili in it for the longest time! however as i am very particular about my hot chocolate i didn't use the chocolate syrup, just a little bit more of the instant powder. For people who find that your powders get clumpy when the water/milk is added i would suggest that you add a little bit(about 1 tbsp) of milk or water to your powder and mix it up to make a thick syrup and then add the rest of your water, this just makes the mixing much easier and prevents clumping! excellent recipe! yumm yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
thi is amazing. i got the recipe yesterday and have already made the hot chocolate over 5 times. even my family mebers enjoy it!! it was a bit nervous about the chil powder because i don't like spicy foods but it actually added a nice subtle kick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States