Easy Mexican Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Oh this is the best hot chocolate I have ever served everyone loved it. It will be my go to recipe every time. I warmed the milk on the stove while whisking in the dry ingredients then added chocolate syrup and then the boiling water :) no lumps just perfection. Thank-you for sharing this delightful treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Maybe I should not fill the whole mug with water and milk, it tastes too thin to me. I added a little bit ginger powder in it which makes it all even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
we had our first cold rainy day of the year and I wanted a special cocoa to go with the first fire. This was perfect. Make sure you scale the recipe up because everyone is going to love it. Had to scale to 8 servings to get enough for 5 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Yum, good twist on the usual hot chocolate. And made me think of Johnny Depp from Chocolat…Yum, again! I think I'm due to watch that movie soon. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I made this with my brother and it tasted like store bought hot chocolate to me. I didn't taste the chili powder, but the cinnamon tasted alright. Next time I'm making this with cocoa powder or chocolate squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Not thick enough for mexican style hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Easy, tasty & better than the higher-fat/sugar blocks on the market!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I am a HUGE fan of Nestle's Abuelita hot chocolate, but it's only sold at certain stores in my area so I was excited when I saw this recipe. I followed another reviewers suggestion and used cocoa instead of the instant hot cocoa. I used dark chocolate cocoa, actually. It came out very bitter (which I expected), so I ended up adding just another squirt of chocolate syrup and some sugar until it tasted right. Then it was AWESOME. Also, as far as the dry ingredients not dissolving.. I mixed up the dry first, added the boiling water to it, added the milk, and then stirred in the chocolate syrup. Everything dissolved perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Delicious! And yes, it is very easy. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Ripple

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Only one word can describe this-mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethany26

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States