Easy Mexican Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
we had our first cold rainy day of the year and I wanted a special cocoa to go with the first fire. This was perfect. Make sure you scale the recipe up because everyone is going to love it. Had to scale to 8 servings to get enough for 5 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Yum, good twist on the usual hot chocolate. And made me think of Johnny Depp from Chocolat…Yum, again! I think I'm due to watch that movie soon. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I made this with my brother and it tasted like store bought hot chocolate to me. I didn't taste the chili powder, but the cinnamon tasted alright. Next time I'm making this with cocoa powder or chocolate squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Not thick enough for mexican style hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Easy, tasty & better than the higher-fat/sugar blocks on the market!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I am a HUGE fan of Nestle's Abuelita hot chocolate, but it's only sold at certain stores in my area so I was excited when I saw this recipe. I followed another reviewers suggestion and used cocoa instead of the instant hot cocoa. I used dark chocolate cocoa, actually. It came out very bitter (which I expected), so I ended up adding just another squirt of chocolate syrup and some sugar until it tasted right. Then it was AWESOME. Also, as far as the dry ingredients not dissolving.. I mixed up the dry first, added the boiling water to it, added the milk, and then stirred in the chocolate syrup. Everything dissolved perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Delicious! And yes, it is very easy. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Ripple

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Only one word can describe this-mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethany26

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Delicious!!! My DH does not like hot chocolate, but he wanted to know how I made it so he can try it himself. Did not add the syrup and it was sweet enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
definately a different taste without being too different and real yummy!!! Loved it and helped bringing us some variety without all the added ingredients that are so not natural! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States