Easy Mexican Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe! Easy and quick to make. Note: If using hot chocolate mix that does not contain powdered milk, it is recommended to increase the proportion of milk to water used in this recipe. [Switch milk and water amounts.] Also if it is not spicy enough for you possibly add some cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I used unsweetened cocoa instead of instant powder, and it was so rich and chocolaty! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I just made this because I've had it on my list for a while, and finally decided to try it. It was GREAT! My husband loved it as well. I'm thinking that I may increase the milk content and decrease the water (or just use a cup of milk and skip the water entirely.) I would definitely add the dry ingredients then the water/milk, then the chocolate syrup; it seemed a bit lumpy once I got to the end...but definitely worth making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia York

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
The chocolate syrup adds that extra richness that is sometimes missing in powdered instant chocolate mixes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
This was easy and great...I had to make 3 batches since the kids couldn't get enough...I also added a bit of ovaltine for some nutrition and a slightly malty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSSIA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This is was very good! I added just a tad of vanilla. I don't like milk, so I used soy milk, it worked great. I think the soy milk really brought out the flavor in this drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Oh My Goodness!!!! This is the best thing ever. I have always loved mexican hot chocolate but I have never made it until now! I did use all milk and it is sooo creamy. Also, there was a group of adults and we put peppermint schnapps in it and YUMMMMY! I was a huge hit, both with adults and kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINGMING

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I never had cinnamon and chili powder in my hot chocolate. I really enjoyed this. I wouldn't call it spicy but it has a nice flavor and I think it enhances the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This turned out much better than I thought it would. Because I had some time this morning, I mixed everything except the milk and water together in a saucepan, turned on the heat, and then gradually whisked in a cup of milk (no water. I was only using skim milk anyway). This avoided any clumping, and made it nice and frothy. Thanks, Sheldyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Good hot chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States