Easy Mexican Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Beat a couple of eggs in a bowl. After you coat the chicken with flour dip it in the eggs and then back in the flour. This should help hold the crust on better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Americus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This recipe disappointed me. I was having a Mexican Fiesta, and wanted to make fried chicken for those who didn't eat Mexican. I wanted to make a dish that had a Mexican Flare, but this wasn't it. The chicken cooked up very dark, looking like it was burnt. Maybe, you should only use one package of taco seasoning mix. The chicken was very, very bland, and messy. It was too much mess for ordinary tasting chicken. It wasn't worth the trouble. I will not try this again, not in this fashion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
I followed this recipee exactly and found it messy. The coating wouldn't stick and there didn't seem to be enough oil to fry it. The coating was crunchy and flavorful, but it would have been nice to have it on the chicken and not stuck to the bottom of the pan. I really did't care for this one. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
The second time I made this rather than use taco seasoning I used some adobo and rubbed it on the chicken then did my usual method of flour, eggs & milk, flour. I was not impressed with the taco seasoning taste. I made this for a family picnic and the mexican side said it tasted like taco bell made fryed chicken and the black side said it was a crime against chicken. Also super messy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
Love this recipe. It was easy to make and I will use it over and over again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
Dad got to impress the crew...The rest of the fam liked it....I found myslef putting hot sauce on it to appease my buds...The tasting kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I did not care for this recipe. I thought the seasoning mix was a little strange in the breading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
the flavor was great but the breading was sticking to the bottom of the pan beacause there wasnt enough oil so we added oil. but we still couldnt keep the breading on. but we will def. try this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking for 3

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This was great, and oh so easy. I have tried to make Mexican fried chicken over the years, and never got it quite right. I think it is the buttermilk that helps tenderize everything and hold the coating on. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
had this recipe many, many times now and still love it. I serve it with refried beans and cheese and mexican rice. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States