Easy Mexican Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
SOOOOOO UPSET with this recipe.i used thighs because thats what i had.thete was a point in time where the chicken would look beautiful on the outside but at that point it would not be cooked fully.i think i will try again finishing them off in the oven outside of the fact they looked horribly burnt it tasted likw typical drive thru chicken. will have to adjust some seasonings next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Pretty easy and flavorful. I made this with the 'Roasted Vegetable and Cornbread Stuffing' on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
We loved it! We did use an egg wash and finished it up in the oven, but the spice level was perfect, the chicken was juicy and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Nuevo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This was super tasty, but the coating didn't get crispy and didn't stick too well to the chicken. I think a double dip is in order, with an egg wash, to keep the coating on this chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
had this recipe many, many times now and still love it. I serve it with refried beans and cheese and mexican rice. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
The second time I made this rather than use taco seasoning I used some adobo and rubbed it on the chicken then did my usual method of flour, eggs & milk, flour. I was not impressed with the taco seasoning taste. I made this for a family picnic and the mexican side said it tasted like taco bell made fryed chicken and the black side said it was a crime against chicken. Also super messy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I also had a difficult time with this recipe. While the batter was delicious...it ended up in the bottom of the frying pan and not on my chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeniflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Great concept! I made this with Chicken Thighs. I marinated overnight like stated, then dredged in the flour/seasoning mix but I did more of a deep fried chicken (1/2 in oil in skillet) until golden brown then put in a 350 degree oven for 45 minutes. This is how I do all of my chicken to allow the fat to drain out. It was very moist and delicious. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I did not care for this recipe. I thought the seasoning mix was a little strange in the breading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Beat a couple of eggs in a bowl. After you coat the chicken with flour dip it in the eggs and then back in the flour. This should help hold the crust on better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Americus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States