Easy Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Sounded so good, but just did not deliver
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Add taco seasoning to hamburg as well and maybe a few finely chopped jalapeños
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This was a great recipe. I made it as is the first time, it was very good. Next time around, I made a few changes. First I used cut up tortillas (1/2 flour, 1/2 corn) in place of chips. I did put crushed chips on the top of the cheese on top. I substituted Lebneh instead of sour cream ( lebneh is yogurt cheese and can be found in middle eastern markets). I added a can of cream of mushroom soup. I also did two layers instead of one. Fantastic. A good staple casserole for everyday or company!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Tried this today. It was great. Will make again. Thanks =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This was so quick & delicious!! I used a bit more ground beef and as suggested, added the taco seasoning. I also added about 3 packets of Sazon de Goya, used black beans instead of the chili beans, added corn, and green chiles. Instead of plain chopped tomatoes I used pico de gallo. I just LOVE this recipe!!! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
The tortilla chips get to soggy on the bottom, I use cut up flour tortilla 's instead as they hold their shape better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Doubled it for a family gathering on Cinco de Mayo and everyone wanted the recipe--even the toddlers ate it and asked for more. In fairness, I gave the original recipe 5 stars even though, based on prior reviews, I altered while doubling: added chopped onion, garlic, salt & pepper when browning meat; added a pkg of OLP Taco Seasoning(use half a pkg or less if not doubling); used a can each of black beans AND kidney beans (use one can if not doubling); added a can of GG Mexicorn; put crushed tortilla chips on the bottom AND top; used thin layer of sour cream and served the rest on the side; served black olives on the side instead of putting in the casserole (wasn't sure if everyone liked them); served salsa and guacamole on the side. I used T*** Original chips and they didn't get soggy, but I think that may be because I used a thick jarred salsa that didn't produce a lot of liquid in the meat mixture. If using a fresh watery salsa, you will need to cook down or drain off excess liquid from the meat mixture before assembling casserole. Don't omit the green onions or chopped tomatoes--they are key to the taste and texture. Again, I suspect the recipe is worth 5 stars as is for those who are looking for a mild casserole, but it can easily be altered for those looking for even more flavor. This is an easy, favorful dish perfect for a small family dinner or adapting for a large gathering. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This was a great dish! I followed some of the suggestions and used Doritos instead of tortilla chips and a packet of taco seasoning. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tonilan
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This was so yummy. The boyfriend asked for seconds and if he could take some to work. Only change I made was ground turkey instead of beef and I added the taco seasoning .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Excellent! Based on some of the reviews my additions were: 1) added a pkg of taco seasoning, 1/2 of a chopped med. onion, 3/4 tsp of chipolte chilli pepper seasoning I bought for another recipe that didn't work out, and 1 tsp minced garlic to the ground beef when browning, 2) used black beans, 3) substituted petite canned tomatoes for fresh which worked out really well, 4) used only about a cup and a half of the thicker yellow tortilla chips. Really good and will definitely make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States