Easy Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is delicious ! I'm just at 4 stars because I had a little curdling with the sour cream that didn't look appetizing but the flavor was delicious. Followed the advice of others and added some spices to the meat, used a medium hot salsa, which was a good move. Also didn't crush the chips but laid them across the bottom of the dish instead. I drained a can do diced tomatoes and used those, that may have been my curdling problem source. I will
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I guess I am an outlier, because I can't understand how this recipe got such high reviews. It tasted like a heavy baked meat chili. I did add the taco seasoning to the ground beef - otherwise, I followed the recipe. For such a mediocre dish, It also took a long time with the 20 minutes of simmering in salsa, in addition to the 30 minute baking time. Usually the 4 star plus recipes on this site are wonderful, but not so in this case. Hubby usually asks for seconds and I heard zilch, even though I gave him a smaller than usual portion. He's very complimentary if the dish tastes good, but tonight he was politely silent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Loved it! Was easy to cook. I substituted ground Turkey for the beef. I also added cubed onion With the spring onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This recipe is a keeper! I have 6 people to feed so I doubled most of the ingredients and just used a very large jar of salsa. Crumbled a whole bag of corn tortillas and spread everything into 2 baking dishes. Served some chips from a second bag on the side. Everyone mentioned seasoning their meat - of course that's a given with anything- you want to season it to give it flavor. In this instance, I sprinkled some taco seasoning and pepper onto meat while cooking and when adding the salsa and beans. Even the picky kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I have made this several times. I don't put the chips in but serve them on the side. I add about 1/2 cup of chopped cilantro and one package of taco power when I add the salsa. Also I put the tomatoes, black olives and green onions on top of the cheese, it gives the dish a better eye appeal. I made this to serve 120 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracietaylor02
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
DELICIOUS! Although, we read the reviews and decided on a few modifications such as our own spices to the meat as it was cooking, and no olives I have NO complaints! Easy,cheap,delicious&filling!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This is an excellent recipe and very good left over, although the chips get a little soggy from being reheated. I brown the meat with some onion added in and also add a package of taco seasoning for extra flavor. I also use salsa con queso (we love cheese here), as I am not a huge fan of regular salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mags7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This was a super tasty recipe. Maybe it was just me, but mine came out a little more liquidy than I thought it would, so eating it with a spoon became a necessity. However, the next day I reheated the leftovers and we ate it by scooping it up with leftover tortilla chips and it was AWESOME. I think next time I'll leave out the bottom chip layer and just serve it dip-style. Very tasty and a nice alternative to the usual tacos. Would be great to serve this way to a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jemado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Flavor was wonderful however it was too dry for our tastes. Followed recipe EXACTLY as given (I don't believe in reviewing recipes that have been changed). I will make again however, I am not going to drain the beans next time as I think it needs more liquid. Sure didn't have any problem with "soggy tortilla chips". It also could have been the salsa I used (thick and chunky) was too thick??? We did like the flavor. Used Mexican cheese on top instead of cheddar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Decent recipe. All the people who tried it liked it, but I think it could use more flavor and spice. I made it exactly to the recipe. I think next time I will add some garlic, and chili sauce. I don't really care for spicy food but this was just a bit too bland for Tex-Mex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States