Easy Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I love this casserole.... But I made a little change I used a can of Rotell instead of fresh tomatoes and I used plain pinto beans this recipe is a keeper! My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I liked this but didn't like the crushed tortilla chips on bottom. I would use tortilla wraps or nothing at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Pretty good recipe, although a little bland for my family. When we make it now we use Doritos instead of tortilla chips. I put taco seasoning in my meat, and we use a medium spicy salsa. Everyone's tastes are different and we just happen to prefer a couple of twists.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
My husband and I love this recipe!!! It's quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This is an excellent dinner, or lunch as well. We added corn in the layers, and I added some Chili Powder, Garlic Powder, Onion Powder, Salt, Pepper, and Cumin to the sour cream!!! Also I didn't have Chili Beans, so I used canned Pinto beans and that was just as good!!! Very yummy... Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Wow- What a wonderful recipe! My whole family loved this casserole. I followed the directions exactly, except used one can of petite diced tomatoes in place of chopped fresh tomato. Will not change anything the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I found i didn't use enough chips on the bottom, and i recommend spraying the pan. (i forgot) Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This was an okay dish. I needed to use up half a bag of stale tortilla chips, so this recipe was perfect for that. I don't know if I would specifically buy chips to crush them up for this, but if I had extra chips that needed to be used, I'd make it again. Three cups of tortilla chips was definitely too much. Next time I will use two cups of chips, or do like others recommended, and add a can of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Love this recepe! However I make a few changes such as adding some taco seasoning, doubling the meat and the cheese (my family is a huge cheese lover). I also cook the sour cream with meat gives it a unique amazing taste. I then layer the cheese as I scoop it into my casserole dish much like you would a lasagna dish. Instead of green onions I use green chile peppers, leave out the tomatoes seeing as salsa already has a hefty amount of them the juicer the better! I just use this recipe as a dip with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This was good, but of course I had to make some changes the second time to make it great. 4 stars as written, 5 stars my way. First, I browned the ground beef and drained the fat and rinsed it with hot tap water to remove most of the fat and grease. I used leftover hardshell taco shells--they worked great, with less grease and less salt and more authentic Mexican flavor, and I put a layer of them on the bottom and top, before the sour cream. I added a couple of dashes of Penzey's Arizona Dreaming seasoning and a tsp of chicken "better than bouillon" and a can of diced green chilis to the mix. I also added a half package of frozen "fiesta" veggies (corn, red and green peppers, black beans) to the mix. I did not add the green onions or chopped tomatoes until after it came out of the oven and the piece de resistance, I heated a can of enchilada sauce and ladeled it over the top of each serving. Sooooooo goooood! (I used reduced fat cheese and sour cream and the hubby didn't even notice!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States