Easy Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This recipe was so good and easy to make my husband got up the next day and warmed it up for breakfast. This will always be my one and only Mexican casserole I make for my family. And I did use rotel and added jalepeno peppers along with my salsa because I had to double this recipe my family just loved it Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I would prefer taco seasoning over just salsa in the meat and the sour cream turns dry and unpleasant looking. Not bad tasting but not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Made this recipe tonight, with a few changes. I used a little over 1 & 1/2 lbs of meat. Once I browned & drained the meat, I added 1 small onion (minced) and 4 cloves of minced garlic. I then added a packet of taco seasoning, 2/3 cup of water, a jar of salsa and a can of refried beans and let it all simmer for 30 minutes. For the cheese layer, I used a mexican blend. It came out great and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Excellent recipe! Very yummy! Easy to make, great directions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I added green chiles to this recipe to give it some kick. Very good recipe, it has become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I thought this dish had a great flavor overall. I followed many of the suggestions and made some modifications: I used a jar of habanero salsa, i seasoned the ground sirloin with cumin, coriander, pepper, garlic salt, and a bit of chipotle powder. I didn't add the fresh chopped tomato, though I would do so in the future. The flavors worked very well together, but those darned chips--they turned "tough" and chewy after cooking. That's my only complaint. Everything else about this recipe was great. So, the next time I make this, it will be as a hot, baked dip and I will serve the tortilla chips on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
My kids are always excited when I make this for dinner. I used black beans instead of chili beans. I also layered soft tortilla shells instead of crispy chips to add a mexican twist on a classic lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I too felt that the chips on the bottom were very dry. I would mix the chips with the beef mixture next time. I have to reheat this tomorrow for a party and Im thinking of lifting the casserole and putting a can of tomatoes, salsa or a little water under it before I reheat in the microwave. After looking at the pic, I think I should have crushed them more :-/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy
Home Town: Berlin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Perfect as written and I've made it several times. Really good on a cold OCT. night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This was really good. Next time I think I will double the amount of green onion and use black beans instead of Chili beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deerfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States