Easy Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This is an excellent recipe and very good left over, although the chips get a little soggy from being reheated. I brown the meat with some onion added in and also add a package of taco seasoning for extra flavor. I also use salsa con queso (we love cheese here), as I am not a huge fan of regular salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mags7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This was a super tasty recipe. Maybe it was just me, but mine came out a little more liquidy than I thought it would, so eating it with a spoon became a necessity. However, the next day I reheated the leftovers and we ate it by scooping it up with leftover tortilla chips and it was AWESOME. I think next time I'll leave out the bottom chip layer and just serve it dip-style. Very tasty and a nice alternative to the usual tacos. Would be great to serve this way to a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jemado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Flavor was wonderful however it was too dry for our tastes. Followed recipe EXACTLY as given (I don't believe in reviewing recipes that have been changed). I will make again however, I am not going to drain the beans next time as I think it needs more liquid. Sure didn't have any problem with "soggy tortilla chips". It also could have been the salsa I used (thick and chunky) was too thick??? We did like the flavor. Used Mexican cheese on top instead of cheddar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Decent recipe. All the people who tried it liked it, but I think it could use more flavor and spice. I made it exactly to the recipe. I think next time I will add some garlic, and chili sauce. I don't really care for spicy food but this was just a bit too bland for Tex-Mex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Like others I did do some tweaking to this basic recipe. I assumed upon reading it that the chips were meant to become a tamale like base so was surprised at the reviews that expressed disappointment that they were not crunchy. In fact, I made sure that my meat mixture had enough moisture to absorb into the chips. Changes I made included adding corn to meat mixture,extra green onions on top, using 1 cup mild salsa and 1 cup hot which gave it the right amount of heat for us. I also opted not to use the chili beans that have spices in them, but rather used a packet of taco seasoning and rinsed black beans. I used a smaller deeper dish and did two layers which made for a thinner sour cream base thus avoiding that weird curdled cooked sour cream issue that others mentioned in their reviews. The end results were awesome, and my fellow was very pleased. Will definetly go into my recipe rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. My family enjoyed. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I took the suggestions of other reviewers and used a packet of taco seasoning. The taste of the meat mixture was okay but, overall, I didn't like it. The sour cream separated because it was heated, and I didn't like the consistency of the "broken" chips. They almost had a chewy, stale taste. A lot of the chips didn't stick to the casserole. I doubt that I'd make this version, again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Married_Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Very good. Used a pint of my homemade salsa and turkey meat. Really filling and good. Did reduce the tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elgin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Made this for the first time last night. The kids loved it. My daughter's response was "dad, I didn't know you could cook this well". Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by puglieseme
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
It was delicious!!! We added fresh garlic to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States