Easy Masoor Daal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I have been making this for just about two years now, over brown rice with some veggies on the side. The recipe is perfect just the way it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jtimion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
tasty and easy to make. too spicy (hot) for my taste, so go easy with cayenne pepper. second time i made it, i added coconut milk and curry powder and it turned to be a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Good curry recipe! I loved that it only used a few easy to obtain spices. I had trouble finding the red lentils so I used the brown ones that I was able to buy in the grocery store. I really enjoyed this and the leftovers were great as well! Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
The first time I'd ever heard of this or even tried it was from my trip in Dubai. I was surprised at how good this stuff was. I haven't tried this recipe yet but if it taste anything like my first experience,then this will be a go all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I used fresh onion and cooked it with the lentils. Added garam masala and garnished with cilantro. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is a great base recipe. I used one onion and 2 cloves of garlic in place of the dried onion. I doubled the spices, except for the cayenne pepper, and added 1/2 tsp each of coriander, cumin, and garam masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpottedSparrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Aachen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This is a great base for a daal recipe. I add garlic and more spices including cardamom and coriander to make a more flavorful dish. I also love to throw in some frozen peas at the end to give the dish color. I serve with naan bread and curried cauliflower (put cauliflower in a skillet with a little water, add coconut milk and curry powder, cook until soft).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I confess I used NKASAM method as that is how I would normally mix and cook these ingredients, the result was great, thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I love it! I have made this split peas and lentils and it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
First time I've made lentils and they turned out great! I only made several small changes, 1. Mixed chicken stock with the water 2. Used a small fresh onion instead of dried onion 3. Sauteed one clove of garlic minced with the onions. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States