Easy Masoor Daal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I made this with brown lentils because I couldn't find any red lentils at my grocery store but it still turned out great. I served it with rice and it was delicious and filling...and very easy to make. I have no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I think this was tasty...I couldn't find red lentils it was still good with brown lentils. I have 2 small complaints. It was really salty and really hot. I added the full 1/2 tsp. and WOW! I was on fire. I'll definetly make it again, just less salt and less cayenne. I served it along side tandoori fish and with Naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Delicious and easy. I use fresh onions (about a 1/4 cup) instead of dried. Since I don't have cumin seeds I used ground cumin. I highly recommend serving it with some cilantro. Also it's best to double this recipe, otherwise it's a scant 2 servings. This has become a weekly dish in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Very simple, fast, tasty. Though why use dried onions??? Use fresh minced onion; far better, as all fresh foods are usually superior to dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This was sooooo good! I doubled the recipe, and it ended up being about 5 meals (also served it with naan because naan is amazing). Also, I would DEFINITELY recommend soaking the lentils either overnight, or during the day (I soaked them while I was at work). Not only is this super delicious and healthy, but it only took about 20 minutes to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
my family liked this! no, you don't understand. they liked this. I needed to tame the heat a bit, but.... they liked this. The cayenne needs to be at 1/8 t for my small children, and I used the normal American-grocery store lentils, not red, but THEY LIKED IT. I have added it to our normal "Indian" night of chicken korma, aloo masala and lassi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Will definitely make this again and again. I subbed curry powder for turmeric and sauteed fresh onions. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
We loved this recipe! I make it at least one day in advance, the flavors really get strong after a day or two. I tripled the spices, we like things pretty hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
THIS WAS MY FIRST TIME TRYING INDIAN FOOD- AMAZING!!! Even my picky family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This was amazing! Very authentic tasting. I did double spices plus added some garam masala as others did. Used half an onion instead of dried. I will make this again soon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States