Easy Masoor Daal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I made this with brown lentils because I couldn't find any red lentils at my grocery store but it still turned out great. I served it with rice and it was delicious and filling...and very easy to make. I have no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I think this was tasty...I couldn't find red lentils it was still good with brown lentils. I have 2 small complaints. It was really salty and really hot. I added the full 1/2 tsp. and WOW! I was on fire. I'll definetly make it again, just less salt and less cayenne. I served it along side tandoori fish and with Naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Delicious and easy. I use fresh onions (about a 1/4 cup) instead of dried. Since I don't have cumin seeds I used ground cumin. I highly recommend serving it with some cilantro. Also it's best to double this recipe, otherwise it's a scant 2 servings. This has become a weekly dish in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Very simple, fast, tasty. Though why use dried onions??? Use fresh minced onion; far better, as all fresh foods are usually superior to dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This was sooooo good! I doubled the recipe, and it ended up being about 5 meals (also served it with naan because naan is amazing). Also, I would DEFINITELY recommend soaking the lentils either overnight, or during the day (I soaked them while I was at work). Not only is this super delicious and healthy, but it only took about 20 minutes to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
my family liked this! no, you don't understand. they liked this. I needed to tame the heat a bit, but.... they liked this. The cayenne needs to be at 1/8 t for my small children, and I used the normal American-grocery store lentils, not red, but THEY LIKED IT. I have added it to our normal "Indian" night of chicken korma, aloo masala and lassi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Will definitely make this again and again. I subbed curry powder for turmeric and sauteed fresh onions. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
We loved this recipe! I make it at least one day in advance, the flavors really get strong after a day or two. I tripled the spices, we like things pretty hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
THIS WAS MY FIRST TIME TRYING INDIAN FOOD- AMAZING!!! Even my picky family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This was amazing! Very authentic tasting. I did double spices plus added some garam masala as others did. Used half an onion instead of dried. I will make this again soon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States