Easy Masoor Daal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Really good. I didn't have any ginger, so I just left that out. Instead of heating up the oil/seasoning ingredients in the microwave i used a skillet. Also, instead of cayenne pepper I used Red Chili powder that I picked up at the local Indian market ( used the same amt. as the recipe suggested for pepper). I used yellow spit peas instead of the red, and I soaked them over night. Finally, I added 1/2 tsp of Garam Masala, and 1/4 tsp of coriander. It was spicy, but I love it that way. I served it over plain white rice and whole wheat pita bread. mmmmm. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miramar, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Really good. I was afraid of lentils but now I am sold. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sizzlin' Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Cilantro is a must!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
i used regular green/brown lentils turned out great. I did use ginger garlic paste and garam masala. YUM! everyone loved them. this recipe is a keeper and I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Very good recipe and I will be making it again. It was a bit dry so perhaps I need to make an adjustment on the water. I did throw in some garam masala on top of the other spices and the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I added a spoonful of "Patak's spicy ginger and garlic" sauce to finish it - it added more spice and a little tang and a beautiful color. Also added a handful of spinach to make it even more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Marvelous! The easiest and best at home Indian recipe I've ever made. Very simple. Followed other ideas and used some fresh onion along with minced in butter. My family was blown away as was I. Served with Jasmine rice and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Oh, my, goodness!! I cannot believe how amazing this dish is! I'd give it a 10, if that were possible. The spice mixture is just so incredible tasting. I think I'll try the spice mixture on rice and/or quinoa and/or couscous, too. I used green lentils, and they worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Yum and thank you. I used fresh onions that I sauteed first and added garam masala, fresh ginger and cayenne. I didn't have any turmeric or cumin but the garam masala is so flavorful, although difficult to find. Also added a chicken boullion cube to my doubled recipe. Tasted like our local Ethiopian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
thank you. this was the first time I have made this and it was fab. i had to use frozen onion and next time i think i will add a fresh one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Field

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berwyn, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States