Easy Masoor Daal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
So good! I followed what other reviewers said and added fresh garlic, onion, more turmeric, garam masala, and tomatoes. I had leftover tomatoes and onion so this was a perfect opportunity to get rid of them. I didn't have cilantro or red lentil so I skipped cilantro and used green lentil instead. This is a simple, easy, healthy and delicious dish. Served it over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Delicious. I used Masoor Dal which I found at Indian Grocer. This worked well because the Dal stayed somewhat whole after cooking. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Just awesome ! I did follow the advice in another review and used half cup of fresh chopped onions and brown the onions in a small pot. Came out perfect. If you're not used to spicy food definitely use cayenne pepper to taste only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Very awesome. Ever since a trip to Chennai 2 years ago, I've been trying to find a recipe that ended up tasting the same as what I had. This is it! I added about an extra 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, but other than that, followed the recipe exactly, and it was AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Very tasty with a great texture. I let the lentils soak in water all day, doubled the recipe, and served with rice and naan. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This recipe is both fantastic and cheap! I made a big batch and will be eating the leftovers for lunch this week. I used fresh onion instead of dried, and dried cumin instead of the seeds. The recipe was still delicious, with just the right about of spice. It might be a little on the hot side for people that don't like spicy foods, though - I like my food to have a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Great recipe. I LOVE IT! I did not use dried onion though and just saute the onion, oil and cumin for several minutes until the onion was soft. I think as some other reviewers mentioned coriander would be good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I rate it 5 stars, but only with changes to the recipe. I modified the recipe on the advice of some other reviewers. I bumped up the tumeric to 1 tsp, used 3 fresh sliced, deseeded chilies instead of cayenne, butter in place of veg. oil, 1 whole sliced onion instead of dried, and added 1 tsp garam masala. And added 1 chopped tomato. I made the lentils separately first. Then sauteed the onions in butter, added the spices and sauteed 1 minute. Then added the tomato and cooked until soft. Then added the lentils and simmered. For me this only made 2 generous servings, because it was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
this was ok but a bit too spicy for me. I would eat it if someone else made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lowie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This recipe is missing quite a few stars of the show in my opinion. No Garlic! No Garam Masala spices mixture! Not nearly enough turmeric! Dried onion instead of fresh?! And no cilantro?! This needs at least 1 teaspoon of Garam Masala. An additional 3/4 teaspoon of turmeric... 4 gloves of minced garlic, an inch and a half of minced fresh ginger root, a 1/2-3/4 cup cilantro, and a whole fresh onion. I also usually shred some carrot to add to it when cooking the lentils. And I add a diced medium tomato at the end. I saute 1 diced onion in about 1/4 cup oil until its softened... then add the minced garlic, ginger, and spices and cook for 4-5 minutes, ensuring not to burn the spices and garlic. Then I add the diced tomato and cilantro to the onions and cook til the tomatoes get nice and soft, stir that mixture into the lentils... simmer it all together for about 5-10 minutes and serve it over steamed basmati rice. I've been doing it like this for ages and its incredible. For those that dislike cilantro, just omit it or use much less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States