Easy Masoor Daal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
This is so easy and tasty! I make this all the time and my husband loves it. It's a bit spicy for those who don't like spice, so I cut back a little on the cayenne and add lemon juice before serving. I also don't have cumin seeds so I use ground cumin and it comes out perfectly. A little cilantro is an excellent addition if you have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
very quick and easy and it tastes good too. I would definately try this recipe out, at least once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
I made this tonight. I sauteed onions and the sliced zucchini, as someone else had recommended. Then I put it back in the pot with lentils and also added a can of diced tomatoes. It was good but nothing outrageous. Although my 8 yr old son that it was THE BEST. And my husband did enjoy it. Simple and easy to prepare,yet no sure I would rush to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
I didn't care for this much at all. I'm pretty sure it was my fault. I don't think I cooked the lentils long enough. Even though they were soft and soupy like the instructions indicate, they still had a "raw" taste that really messed with the flavor. Probably won't attempt this again since I'm not a big lentil fan, but I'm glad I gave it a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
This was very easy and tasty. I didn't find it spicy enough so I added more tumeric and cayenne pepper. I also added chopped cilnatro to the finished product, which I served over brown rice. The next day I added some stir fried zucchini to the leftovers. I think I liked it better with a green veggie added in. next time, I want to try this with spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2003
Found it very tasty .. I am a nursing mother, however, so next time I think I will cut down on the cayenne pepper! It was a bit too much spice for the baby. Definitely a wonderful addition to any meal and good for you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
I tempered the dal the traditional way by heating the oil in a little pan and then added fresh chopped onion (about 1/2 cup), cumin and a half teaspoon of minced garlic. Cook till onions are a light golden brown. Add the cumin and garlic in the last 45 seconds before pouring oil mixture into the daal. Also using ghee (clarified butter) or regular butter gives it a richer and more authentic flavor. Cook the combined mixture for about 2 minutes on low heat. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
This was so simple and delicious! It was great served over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Simple to make and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Very easy but still very tasty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States