Easy Masoor Daal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I loved this. Very flavorful, although it seemed to take me a long time to make. Then again, I'm not an experienced cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I signed up to be an AllRecipes member just to review this recipe-- I think it's that good! SO easy, and delicious over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I made this in a way very similar to NKASAM... using fresh onions, garlic, a mix of oil & butter. Totally delicious. Even my 1-yr old loved it. :) I've made it twice already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi in Madison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Tasty! Sometimes l use it as taco filling in place of meat/meat substitutes. I use real onion and do it all on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathbar
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
This was really delicious, use less cayenne unless you like it really hot like we do. I used broth instead of water so I omitted the salt, and used powdered cumin cause I didn't have seeds. I did find this took longer to cook than the posted time.(There were leftovers so I added a small boiled cut up potato, equally as good.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: North Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This was so tasty! Thanks for sharing this recipe. I needed to add more water during the cooking process and realized the importance of stirring this during the simmer phase. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Belmont, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
We really enjoyed this recipe and will have it again! It was a bit salty so next time I would cut back on that. I also used less cayenne and chrystalized ginger instead of the raw. My one problem was that I don't think it would fill four people. It made barely three filling servings for us and I served it with naan to make up the difference. Delicious though. Even my three year old liked it and it was a bit spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I loved this recipe and so did my picky 4 year old. Next time I will cut back on the cayenne as it was a little too much for the kids but overall... FANTASTIC! oh I would also add some chopped carrot neat time so would be more of a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I thought this recipe was pretty awesome. I would go a little light on the salt and heavy on the ginger and cayenne. But I'm ginger nut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Very delicious. I used brown lentils, half cup fresh chopped onion, omitted the ginger and cumin, but added about 2 tablespoons White Wine Vinegar halfway thru the simmer time for an extra kick. I did have to add extra water to it as the lentils cooked to tender. a great dish, thank you very much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States