Easy Masoor Daal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Good, but I'd double the recipe if I make it again--I ate it all in two servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
So yummy! I've made this about a zillion times without any modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I really enjoy this everytime I make it.Don't be afraid of adding more and more water- It will just soak up and cook off. I also add garlic, use fresh onion, add some chunks of fresh tomato and let them cook through- I sometimes even add cream and cubes of sauteed tofu as to make it more of a meal. Doing it this way makes it far from the traditional daal I ate as a kid but man is it delicious. Also, make sure you top it with cilantro as some one else had mentioned- it really makes it great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This was absolutely delicious! I sauteed fresh onions and garlic separately and added them in after everything else was it. I also added three carrots and a tomato and much more lentils. I will definitely make again! It would be great with some warm naan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
A fantastic, easy dahl that has full flavor. This is great as is, but I mix it up using some of the ingredients in Spicy Indian Dahl: add cilantro at the end or substitute jalapeno for the cayenne. I don't cook my lentils in a seperate step - once the onion and spices are ready I just add the dahl and water to the pot and let them cook with the spices. I think the ratio of lentils to water is about 1:3, but you can make it as thin as you'd like, so just keep an eye on it as it cooks down. Very satisfying served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
The flavors in this were good, although I did only 1/4 tsp. of cayenne and did ground cumin instead of seeds. I cooked everything in the crock pot, adding just shy of 1 cup brown rice and doing about 5 cups of water. I let it cook all day on low and when the rice tasted done, I added some fresh chopped flat leaf parsley and chives. We ate it in tortillas and it was filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
I added 1/4-1/2 tsp. of garamasala (got this spice at Whole Foods) to mine. Plus, a friend from Malaysia always made hers w/ chopped tomatoes, so I added 1/2 of a chopped tomato to mine. Also, I only added 1/4 tsp. of cayenne because I was going to feed my 9 mo. old this for her dinner. It was still too hot for her. It was perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Pretty good! Even my meat eater husband said it was "surprisingly tasty".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lil deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This was AMAZING. I followed the recipe exactly and the stuff was delicious. I had it that night over basmati rice and took it for lunch the next day with a baked potato! Would like to try it with fresh onions sometime to see if it is even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Followed the recipe pretty much exactly, and it it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States