Easy Masoor Daal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Great Flavor. Soaked Lentils before starting as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This was delicious and vegan! This was my first time using lentils, so a bit more advice on how much water to use when cooking the lentils would have been helpful. If I remember correctly, I used a full 16 oz. bag of lentils (which made more than enough) and used about 4 cups of water, because I wanted the mixture to have a bit more saucy texture to go over the rice. I also added about a tablespoon of molasses and 2 tablespoons of brown sugar to add a bit of savory sweetness to the daal. If you are making this recipe, follow the advice of previous users and temper your curry for about 45 seconds to bring out its flavor and pour the oil mixtures right onto your lentils. Also, the suggestion of the adding coriander leaves (cilantro) was a great idea and adds fresh flavor that compliments the spices. I also chopped up so fresh tomatoes and added them into the daal mixture. I will definitely make this recipes frequently. Its cheap, and relatively easy once you get used to cooking lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Surprisingly delightful! I didn't expect this dish to be as exciting as it was. I did have to use green lentils instead of red ones because the store had none in stock :(. But other than that, it went unaltered and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Quick and easy to make! Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
nothing fabulous, but definately good. cooking the onions on the stove gave them a slight burnt taste which worked really well. they did need a lot of seasoning however. i upped every seasoning by at least a half tsp, cayenne by probably a whole tsp and they still weren't as spicy as you get in indian restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This is very good, although I made a few changes. The minced dried onion was a little too strong for me and it seemed to overpower the dish. The second time I made the daal, I decreased the onion to 2 tsp and it was much better. I also decreased the salt to 3/4 tsp because the full tsp was too much for me. I have tried this with fresh jalapeno instead of cayenne, and fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. Both ways are great, so use whatever you have on hand. last time, I tried this with the regular brown lentils that are in your grocery store - this turned out well also. I am adding this to my regular rotation! One thing to add - a handful of chopped fresh cilantro at the end. That really makes the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
It certainly was easy, though I'd spice it up more. I added ground cumin and olive oil once it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. I made changes based on the comments on this site, which were helpful. Personally I will use less of the cayenne pepper next time. I added some yogurt to calm it down a bit, which was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Good, but I'd double the recipe if I make it again--I ate it all in two servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
So yummy! I've made this about a zillion times without any modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States