Easy Mashed Potato and Roasted Vegetable Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Even my picky roommates love this one! It's easy to substitute a variety of veggies to please whatever crowd. If I don't have time for roasting the veggies or don't want to heat up the kitchen by using the oven, it's easy to chop the veggies and throw them in a frying pan with some olive oil. I use a bit of cumin and some chili powder for seasoning and it comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Good starting recipe! All five in our family loved it. We used lavash bread (flat bread) b/c that's what we had on hand, and I made it as a casserole - super easy and good! We are vegetarian - almost vegan(dh has high cholesterol)- and haven't been able to enjoy a casserole type dish for several years now. This is a great way to get that creamy, cheesy type taste without all the fat that you usually find with cream soups and lots of cheese. Homemade enchilada sauce is easy to make and I think it added lots of good flavor that would have be lacking with store bought. We'll definitely make this again, however we will add some seasoning to the veggies - taco seasoning perhaps, or just salt, pepper, cumin like others have suggested. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2001
These are really good...a nice change from the usual chx enchiladas! They freeze really well..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This was very good! It should be called a Mexican knish. I used 2 leeks, 1 red pepper, 1 green pepper and 3 large cloves of garlic, because my kids don't like the ones named in the recipe. You could use any veggies that you like. I'm glad I read the reviews, because blandness would of been a problem if I didn't add cayenne pepper, chili powder and cumin, along with the salt and pepper stated in the recipe. I sprinkled these seasonings on the veggies before roasting them. I used homemade mashed potatoes. Also, this recipe calls for 8 oz. shredded cheddar, but that is only enough cheese for 8 enchiladas. I would use 12 to 16 oz. of shredded cheddar. There is a lot of prep and mess when making this recipe but it is surely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
This is awesome! I've had potato enchiladas at Mexican restaurants but was always afraid to try them at home. I used less veggies and mashed potatoes than called for, omitted carrot (had none), added onion and green pepper (roasted). Also added cumin to veggies before roasting (I mess with every recipe I get my hands on - It's nothing personal). Hubby loved it, as well. VERY good with refried beans, sour cream & Chi Chi's salsa (my fave). THANK YOU for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Good. I followed the recipe except I made fresh mashed potatoes instead of instant, blanched the carrots for a couple minutes before roasting so they veg would get done quicker, and made it a casserole. I think it needs more mexican spices because the enchilada sauce we used didn't do the trick. I'd add some taco seasoning to the mashed potatoes and maybe some cumin and chili powder to the roasted veg next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
THIS IS VERY GOOD. I MADE IT MORE LIKE A CASEROLE BECAUSE MY TORTILLAS ALWAYS BREAK AND IT WAS GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
Wonderful - even picky husband ate (& went back for seconds!) I cut and roasted veggies the night before to save time making dinner (we get home late and have 2 small ones - I often do food prep after they go to bed). Also - made into layered casserole instead of individual servings - also to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Yum-Yum. This is a nice change from my regular cheese enchiladas. I included broccoli, carrots, zucchini, mushrooms, onions and red peppers. I also used homemade mashed potatoes. I seasoned the veggies with salt, pepper, garlic powder and cumin. I will make this one again. (smile)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T9CHEBIT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
My husband and I thought this was really good - a great mix of flavors. I used leftover mashed potatoes and stir fried the other veggies to save time, so they were ready for the oven in 20 minutes - pretty quick!. Next time I'll roast the veggies because that will probably add more flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States