Easy Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
So simple and oh so YUM! I didn't measure anything (mom never did so I never do), used fresh tomatoes and only had red wine. Thanks for a great marinara recipe! Brown Sugar....WOW :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by viva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Best meat sauce we've had! The description is bang on - sweet yet zingy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
We loved this!! Mr. LTH commented multiple times what a great meal this was. I used my meatballs (Meatball Nirvana) and a combination of linguini & fettucini as vehicles for this sauce. I'm lazy, so I tossed everything in the crock pot on high for 1 hour, then turned it to low (and added my already cooked meatballs) for the next few hours. Surprisingly, we were out of tomato sauce, so i subbed crushed tomatoes. I also had to sub red wine for white wine when I realized we were out of that, too. I increased the crushed red to almost a teaspoon, and it was perfect. I WILL make this again. THANK YOU for the recipe, PAcklam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I used one sweet onion that I ran through the food processor with the garlic for a finer texture. I omitted the green pepper only because I did not have any and I went easy on the salt. I only had burgundy wine on hand, I used equal amounts in place of the white wine. I made no other changes. I paired this with Meatball Nirvana for homemade meatball sandwiches. EXCELLENT marinara sauce. I seriously can't stop taste testing it. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
The whole family loved this! My husband keeps saying "Do not lose this recipe!" I had lots of fresh tomatoes from the garden, so I used that instead of caned. Also did not have red pepper flakes on hand. Did not change anything else. Great recipe, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Would give 4.5 stars if I could. This recipe went together quickly, and the flavor is exquisite! I would never have thought to use brown sugar, but it adds a little more depth of flavor (while cutting the tomatoes' acidity) than does white sugar. I did find the texture a little too chunky for me, so next time, I will use petite diced tomatoes. This recipe makes a lot, so I split the sauce into fourths; one went into the fridge, and the other three portions are in the freezer for later. This is probably going to become my go-to sauce recipe; thanks so much for sharing it! 6/14/2014: For some weird reason, I had four cans of stewed tomatoes, but no diced tomatoes, in the pantry. I pureed the stewed tomatoes in the blender and used them. Delicious, and the smooth texture I wanted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This was pretty good, also easy, as the title says. It makes a lot of sauce. The depth of flavour that a long simmered sauce has is not there, but I plan to put a parmesan rind in next time, as well as adding some fresh chopped Italian parsley, and I think those changes will help. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by davebuoy
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I've made this before and it is very good. This time I added a bunch of mushroom to it. It's simmering now and will be refridgerated overnight. Tomorrow I'll bring it back up to temp, add browned Italian sausage links and fresh basil. I'll simmer it an hour to make sure the sausage is cooked thru. As Justin Wilson used to say, "I guarantee". I'll add a photo tomorrow as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davebuoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States