Easy Manicotti Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
I doubled the recipe, added 2c. hamburger, 1Tbsp Italian seasonings, 1Tbsp minced garlic, and 1/2c. parmesan cheese. Then I used 2 jars of my favorite spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce. This perfectly made 4 pans of 7 shells each which I froze and baked at a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
I liked the taste. Not having to boil the manicotti shells was definitely a time-saver. In the list of ingredients the recipe calls for tomato sauce. In the recipe directions, however, it asks for spaghetti sauce. I used tomato sauce but I think that was an error: it should have been spaghetti sauce - the dish would have tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
i liked the fact you didnt have to boil the noodles first, i have an easy lagana recipe that i make because i hate working with wet noodles. however, made according to the directions this did come out very dry and bland. i will try it again but i will do it more like my lasagna recipe and add parmesan cheese, mozzarella cheese and an egg to the "cheese" mixture. it also needs more water in the bottom of the pan i will put in 1 cup. and yes use your favorite spag. sauce, this recipe doesnt call for that much along the lines of itailian seasonings and the spag. sauce will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULI42298

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
The reviews are right. This is a good recipe with help. I added garlic, eggs, mozzarella, and parmesan to the filling mixture and do use spaghetti sauce rather than tomato sauce. I also solved the problem of filling the shells by putting the filling mixture in a plastic zip-lock bag, cutting off the corner and squeezing the mixture into the shells. This worked like a dream! The shells were filled in no time. For you seasoned chefs, a pastry bag or cookie press would also work well. Once perfected, I will post my version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
The filling isn't enough for the whole 8 oz package of shells. I ended up doubling the filling, which was better anyway because what else would I do with the leftover half package of spinach ;-) I also used spaghetti sauce (Hunt's in a can) and used a ziploc baggie to fill the shells. Just put filling in the baggie, snip off tip and squeeze it into shells. Start to finish, this takes about 10 min prep time, maximum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
This recipe was fantastic. I served them at a dinner party and my guests loved them. Filling the Manicotti prior to cooking is brilliant and works to perfection when covered with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Great recipe with a few modifications. I used canned spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce and added garlic salt, seasoning salt and parmesan to the cheese mixture. I had enough for 3 casseroles because it's only my husband and I. After baking for 45 min. I froze 2 dishes for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAIL8D
Home Town: Portageville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
I started out stuffing the pasta with a teaspoon and quickly switched to a butterknife..worked a heckuva lot better. This went together VERY quickly..I love not having to cook the pasta! I added a little oregano and garlic to the cheese mixture along with about 1/3 cup of grated parmesan cheese. I used LOTS of marinara sauce. My picky three year old LOVED it, my five year old begged for more and my husband thought I slaved!!!! 5 stars for that alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
These were fabulous! I made them last night and refrigerated them until today. I placed them on the counter (still foil covered) for about 4 hours today before baking. They taste great (noodles are a little more "done" than I'd prefer, probably from sitting prepared in sauce all night...still GREAT, I just prefer mine a little more al dente). I added 1 egg, Italian seasoning, garlic salt, a small handful of grated Italian cheese, parmesan, and crushed red pepper to the cheese/spinach mixture. I took the advice of others and piped into the manicotti using a ziploc w/the corner cut off. I also used an entire "big" jar of spaghetti sauce. Quick, easy, yummy...thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Very tasty! Made this with some of the add-ins suggested: garlic, basil, oregano etc, plus used Prego original spaghetti sauce. Stuffing these is very easy if you put mixture into a plastic bag and snip off the end, then you just squeeze it into the pasta (couldn't be easier!) I also did not pre-cook the manicotti, just added a bit of water to the sauce and let it sit for a bit before I baked it (thanks to another reviewer) A great dish to pre-make. I think I'll try to freeze-ahead some for unexpected company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States