Easy Manicotti Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This recipe was delicious. I used spaghetti sauce, but there is still something missing. I think I will try shredding some chicken and adding that to the mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raymond Ackermann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
These were fabulous! I made them last night and refrigerated them until today. I placed them on the counter (still foil covered) for about 4 hours today before baking. They taste great (noodles are a little more "done" than I'd prefer, probably from sitting prepared in sauce all night...still GREAT, I just prefer mine a little more al dente). I added 1 egg, Italian seasoning, garlic salt, a small handful of grated Italian cheese, parmesan, and crushed red pepper to the cheese/spinach mixture. I took the advice of others and piped into the manicotti using a ziploc w/the corner cut off. I also used an entire "big" jar of spaghetti sauce. Quick, easy, yummy...thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I made this and I was worried about using the uncooked shells because it was my first time making it. I added v8 instead of water to the sauce and put the filled shells in and baked it at 400 for 45 minutes and cut it down to 375 for the next 15 and it came out perfect, aldente' (however you spell that) and it was fabulous. Also I didn't add the spinach - I made a typical lasagna filing except I put in chopped sauteed mushrooms and onions and then I made the other half with a meat and rice filling (like you'd do with stuffed peppers) and it was a huge success. Good eats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I used the filling recipe and made canneloni with it instead, subbed in romano for the mozza, and added parm with less cottage cheese; it was great! used a home made tomato sauce and i will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bijoux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I baked the recipe according to the original directions - I give it 4 stars because it was edible & not a complete waste, but definitely not worth more than that. This was my first manicotti effort & I think I'll stick with all cheese filling next time. Just too much spinach flavor & not enough cheese - & I like my cheese!! Plus, the shells were crunchy on the ends, so definitely cover the ends well with sauce. Definitely easy to prepare - no mess filling the shells when you use a shrimp fork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaRidd07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This recipe is quite simple, and even the kidlets eat it right up. I use a full jar of sausage and onion spaghetti sauce in it. I have made it with browned TVP "sausage" on top with rave results from the family too. I added minced onion and a shredded carrot to the filling. My goal is to see how many veggies I can "sneak" into this recipe before the little ones catch on that it's relatively good for them. Now I look forward to doubling the batch and freezing a batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Manicotti...so yummy. This recipe would be really good with any other kind of stuffed pasta (e.g. ravioli, agnolotti, etc.) This has easily become one of my favourites, definitely a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Very tasty! Made this with some of the add-ins suggested: garlic, basil, oregano etc, plus used Prego original spaghetti sauce. Stuffing these is very easy if you put mixture into a plastic bag and snip off the end, then you just squeeze it into the pasta (couldn't be easier!) I also did not pre-cook the manicotti, just added a bit of water to the sauce and let it sit for a bit before I baked it (thanks to another reviewer) A great dish to pre-make. I think I'll try to freeze-ahead some for unexpected company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This is one of my vegetarian daughter's favorite dishes to order when eating out. So I decided to try this one for her and I'm so glad I did. I used fresh spinach and spaghetti sauce and added in some garlic powder and oregano. My daughter really enjoyed this. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
This is a good basic recipe. Like some other reviewers, I also made some additions. I added sauted onion, garlic, parmesan cheese, mozzarella cheese, and italian seasoning to the cheese mixture. Instead of tomato sauce I used a large jar of spaghetti sauce, and I didn't use any water. To avoid frustration when stuffing the shells, use a pasty bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States