Easy Mac and Cheese Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is a great idea. The recipe needs a little something though. I made as is the first time and it tasted good. They reheated very nicely. The second time around I added more cheese and pepper and left off the topping and they were more to our liking. I will be making these often for lunches and quick snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
The concept for this recipe is good, however there were a couple of problems -the breadcrumb topping was pretty dry. I think I will try a butter and cracker crumb topping instead. Also, the cheese needs to be a bit creamier. This recipe needs some work, but I am willing to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Alden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Great and easy recipe to make, even with a lot of little helpers fighting to help. I agree that it is a very basic mac and cheese flavor, but that is easily fixed by adding spices or just changing the type of cheese. (I am trying it out with smoked gouda next.) Also, I used crushed buttery crackers on top instead of the bread crumbs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I will give this 5 stars for presentation! They look great. However, just by reading the ingredients I could tell they would be bland so I added some spices to my preference like garlic powder, onion powder, salt and Pepper to the pasta. Because my true favorite recipe for Mac & cheese has cottage cheese and Parmesan cheese in it, I thought I'd add them too! I am glad I did. So, I can't really rate this recipe as written because I tweaked it too much, but baking them in the muffin pan is a brilliant idea and it went over well with my daughter who only likes the boxed process kind...untill now! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
These muffins were very tasty, and I think they may have even tasted a little better warmed up the next day. I only had unseasoned bread crumbs so I added some seasoned salt to them and that turned out well, although now that I've eaten them I would also recommend adding some seasoned salt to the pasta itself to give it a little more zip. Perhaps a little garlic powder or pepper as well depending on your tastes. I would also recommend adding more of the sharp cheddar to the pasta and maybe a little less to the top. Overall though, they were easy to make and turned out pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kduncan
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I'm really glad that I read the reviews before making these! I used less salt in the breadcrumb mixture and more salt and black pepper in the pasta mixture. I also baked them in mini-muffin tins so that they'd be more bite sized. I loved the crunch on the outside, it was a hit all around! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
A big hit with the kids (2 & 5 yrs)! I made it a bit healthier by using whole wheat pasta & reduced fat cheeses. I also added some Mrs. Dash & Black pepper. No leftovers, so next time I'll have to double it so we can have some to freeze for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elk Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This was a wonderful recipe! My family loved this. It was easy and quick. They were even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
First I have to say my 6 year old son gobbled this up! He loved it! However, it was a little bland for me and the breadcrumb topping was salty. I followed the recipe without any change. On the positive side it was creamy yet kept a good muffin form. Next time I will lessen the salt in the crumb topping and maybe add a little salt in the mac mixture instead. This was such a fun food! Thank you. EDIT: I'm back to add an afterthought. I heated these up the next day and I have to say, they reheat very well. They weren't bland the next day. It seems to be that this is a great "make-ahead" meal. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopewell Junction, New York, USA
Living In: Wrightwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
OK, I have made these 3 times now and I end up eating them not my kids. I love them. Old fashion mac cheese taste. Not processed enough for my munchkins because they want the box stuff. Hopefully one day they will convert-until then, I will continue to enjoy these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States