Easy Mac and Cheese Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
My pickey kids did not like the way these looked! I thought they would be a hit, but sadly no!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Photo by ANJACKSON
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
For concept alone, these babies get 5 stars, LOL!! Mac n cheese in a muffin, doesn't get much better than that! My 6 yr old and 1 yr old especially loved these (me too!), my middle guy is a bit pickier! I did switch up the cheese based on what I had, used some light cheese whiz to make them creamy in with shredded mozz. I too added some granulated garlic, pepper and mustard powder to the mixture and used panko crumbs (added some garlic and oregano too). Fantastic, I got 18 muffins out of the recipe and these will become a regular in our house, thanks for sharing! **UPDATE 02/08/10 - have made these a few times and always add seasonings to both my breadcrumbs (panko) and some to the cheese mixture as well! My 2 older boys (8 and 6) love them...they work beautifully in my silicone baking cups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
5 for creativity, but only a 2 for flavor. This is a terrific idea. The individual portions are great for school lunches. Unfortunaely, the flavor was bland. I think I'll adapt my regualr recipe to this method. Thank you for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Reis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
These were a little bland, even after I added hot sauce to the macaroni and seasoned salt to the bread crumbs. My kitten, however, seemed to love them. I found him on the counter digging in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SizzleCakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I wanted to make something special for my son's first day of Kindergarden. This fit the bill perfectly. I used 8 oz. extra sharp white cheddar, 4 oz. sharp cheddar and 4 oz. grated parmesan cheese. I sauteed a little garlic in with the butter, then added the milk and eggs. For me, this made 16 large mac and cheese muffins. More than enough for a couple lunches or dinner warmups. My son was impressed with handheld macaroni and cheese. I'll make this again for another special occasion. EDITED TO ADD: My family at all 16 mac and cheese muffins. This was a huge hit. Think about making it my way. You'll thank me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
For the most part I enjoyed these, but there were less of a hit with the kiddos than I thought - a few of the pasta corners got crunchy which they did not like. I think that next time I will cover with foil until the last few minutes and see if they are more gooier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This turned out great - but as others suggested I added a little seasoning before baking. Some Mrs Dash and garlic powder. I skipped the breadcrumbs nd just added cheddar chesse at the very end on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is a great idea. The recipe needs a little something though. I made as is the first time and it tasted good. They reheated very nicely. The second time around I added more cheese and pepper and left off the topping and they were more to our liking. I will be making these often for lunches and quick snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
The concept for this recipe is good, however there were a couple of problems -the breadcrumb topping was pretty dry. I think I will try a butter and cracker crumb topping instead. Also, the cheese needs to be a bit creamier. This recipe needs some work, but I am willing to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Alden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Great and easy recipe to make, even with a lot of little helpers fighting to help. I agree that it is a very basic mac and cheese flavor, but that is easily fixed by adding spices or just changing the type of cheese. (I am trying it out with smoked gouda next.) Also, I used crushed buttery crackers on top instead of the bread crumbs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States