Easy Mac and Cheese Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I will give this 5 stars for presentation! They look great. However, just by reading the ingredients I could tell they would be bland so I added some spices to my preference like garlic powder, onion powder, salt and Pepper to the pasta. Because my true favorite recipe for Mac & cheese has cottage cheese and Parmesan cheese in it, I thought I'd add them too! I am glad I did. So, I can't really rate this recipe as written because I tweaked it too much, but baking them in the muffin pan is a brilliant idea and it went over well with my daughter who only likes the boxed process kind...untill now! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
These muffins were very tasty, and I think they may have even tasted a little better warmed up the next day. I only had unseasoned bread crumbs so I added some seasoned salt to them and that turned out well, although now that I've eaten them I would also recommend adding some seasoned salt to the pasta itself to give it a little more zip. Perhaps a little garlic powder or pepper as well depending on your tastes. I would also recommend adding more of the sharp cheddar to the pasta and maybe a little less to the top. Overall though, they were easy to make and turned out pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kduncan
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I'm really glad that I read the reviews before making these! I used less salt in the breadcrumb mixture and more salt and black pepper in the pasta mixture. I also baked them in mini-muffin tins so that they'd be more bite sized. I loved the crunch on the outside, it was a hit all around! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
A big hit with the kids (2 & 5 yrs)! I made it a bit healthier by using whole wheat pasta & reduced fat cheeses. I also added some Mrs. Dash & Black pepper. No leftovers, so next time I'll have to double it so we can have some to freeze for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elk Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This was a wonderful recipe! My family loved this. It was easy and quick. They were even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
First I have to say my 6 year old son gobbled this up! He loved it! However, it was a little bland for me and the breadcrumb topping was salty. I followed the recipe without any change. On the positive side it was creamy yet kept a good muffin form. Next time I will lessen the salt in the crumb topping and maybe add a little salt in the mac mixture instead. This was such a fun food! Thank you. EDIT: I'm back to add an afterthought. I heated these up the next day and I have to say, they reheat very well. They weren't bland the next day. It seems to be that this is a great "make-ahead" meal. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopewell Junction, New York, USA
Living In: Wrightwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
OK, I have made these 3 times now and I end up eating them not my kids. I love them. Old fashion mac cheese taste. Not processed enough for my munchkins because they want the box stuff. Hopefully one day they will convert-until then, I will continue to enjoy these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This turned out ok, but probably would have been fabulous if I hadn't used my own homemade breadcrumbs (I overtoasted the bread!). The muffins were very cheesy and rich. Our children really loved them and they were even better as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
quick & easy to prepare easy to eat delicious good for picky eaters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weaam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
The mac and cheese is no doubt bland - but, that can be fixed. I too like the idea of using muffin tins to cook this. Makes lovely individually sized servings and you really can't find anything more simplistic than this. I froze them and have found they make perfect lunch time treats. As for the mac itself, I admit that I doctored it up quite a bit to make it better. Add black pepper, more cheese and even a dash of garlic powder. I also added some sour cream to the noodle mixture and it comes out tasting creamy and delicious. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States