Easy Mac and Cheese Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Great recipe, Joplin - you're contribution rocked the mac 'n cheese snobs' world with such a great method & presentation. Thanks for sharing. Of course, everyone enhances a recipe to their own taste, but you deserve 5 stars for a beloved American classic recipe taken to a higher dimension in it's presentation. Very cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
good, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
These tasted great! My pasta said to cook for 11 min, and I cooked for 8 which was perfect. I used closer to 2 cups each of medium cheddar and jack cheese, and about 1/4 cup shredded parm. I left out the bread crumbs because I don't care for them much on my mac. I was concerned the sauce would be too thin, but it firmed up perfectly. I also covered the mac with foil and cooked for 20 minutes to avoid browning. A nice change to the casserole mac & cheese dish, but I didn't care for the clean up so I'm not sure if I'll make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I made these for my daughter's second birthday party. The adults and the kids loved them. I made 26 of 'em (by doubling the recipe) and was they were the hit of the buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Good portable snack, a little greasy, but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
As preparation for my 2-year-old's birthday party, we tried multiple versions of mac and cheese -- THIS RECIPE IS THE BEST HANDS DOWN. Other reviews mention that it is a bit bland, and so I added a little garlic powder and Ms. Dash. Also, I use RITZ crackers for the topping. The second time I made them, I completely forgot to add anything extra, and we hardly noticed the difference. They were a HUGE hit with both kids (ages 2-10) and adults at the birthday party!! We served all finger foods, so the mac-muffins were the way to go in that respect as well. I made them in mini-muffin tins, so they were a 3-bite type of appetizer. UPDATE: Maybe I was just in a Mac and Cheese mood when I previously gave this 5 stars, but I have made this at least 4 more times and it's just not as good as I remember. To be fair, I haven't been putting it into muffin tins, just a baking dish, but it's just not a 5 star for me anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
These came out even better than I was expecting, however I took the advice of other reviewers and tweaked the seasonings a bit to avoid a bland result. I added about 1/4 cup of sauteed finely chopped onion, a dash of garlic powder, pepper and about 1/4 cup grated parmesan in addition to the cheese in the recipe, and along with the recommended cheeses, I also used up a little shredded Mexican blend that I had on hand. I was worried about the mac n cheese setting correctly, so I added about a tbsp of flour - no idea if it really had an effect, but the end result (after cooling) was perfectly set but still moist. And more importantly, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I liked the idea of the muffin shape for mac and cheese. However, this really needs a cheese sauce, held together with a little flour. Made the way it calls for, the cheese clumped and the milk pooled in the bottom. Although they did stick together after cooling, the top half had no sauce on the noodles. I added garlic like another reviewer recommended, and it was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
We didn't love these. The muffin idea is a great one and I may use that again, but I really didn't care for the actual mac and cheese part- in the future, I will use my stand-by recipe and use the muffin cup idea. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This was an awesome recipe; we did a few modification though: we added garlic power, onion powder, and pepper into the bread crumbs, then we also added two tablespoons of cottage cheese into the mix. made it taste excellent. and just as a side note: I enjoy sugar in my mac and cheese! it's really good, try it sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States