Easy Lima Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I took the onions out before eating, personal preference. Also I added a bit of salt and pepper and some crispy bacon to top it off. YUM! Bacon makes everything better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
My children have been begging for Lima beans (they had tried some before and loved them!). I thought this recipe sounded great and the reviews were pretty good too. I used the recipe plus some of the suggestions from others-bacon grease, fresh minced garlic, extra salt and pepper, butter. I still found this recipe to be bland and needing A LOT more flavor. Disappointed for the first time with an all recipe. Angela
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I used a bag of large lima beans (they started out white in color) and used a base of leftover onion soup instead of chicken broth. I threw them in the crockpot to cook all day, then towards the end added some leftover chopped up ham chunks I had on hand just for the sake of using them. Very nice flavor with the onion soup base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Has a subtle but distinctive flavor. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Pretty goooood. But for goodness sake...add some salt and a touch of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennawattenbarger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
As they are, they're a little bland. They are, however, nothing like the mealy, unpleasant limas I remember from my childhood, so that was a pleasant surprise. I took Pomona's suggestions and added some green Tabasco and a little crumbled bacon to the finished product. Then, this was terrific - even my three year old scarfed hers down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Made this for the first time the other day and it was very tasty. I added a clove of garlic and used 1/2c of dried lima beans instead to the 1 1/2c. of chicken broth. I pressured cooked on high for 16 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I was looking for something different and stumble across this quick and easy recipe.. Never thought to use Chicken broth in my beans and onions.. It tasted Great and my family loved it... Overall it was successful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This is an easy, flavorful recipe, and it works perfectly just as written. What's not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattyP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pan-Fried Butter Beans

See how to make a flavorful, super-easy side for roasted meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States