Easy Lima Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Tasty & healthy dish, but I didn't like the onion texture in these, so I substitute 1/2 tsp of onion powder. You also can substitute bouillon for the broth. Salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
After trying a few different lima bean recipes that my 5-year-old hated I tried this one. Finally, we have a winner! She told me to "always make lima beans this way because they're JUST right". Can't argue with that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I usually don't cook limas at home because I know they will never be as good as those I used to get at the restaurant I worked at in high school, but this recipe comes close. First time I made it, I was too impatient and didn't let them simmer long enough. Though a little hard for my taste, they were still outstanding. When I let them cook the full time, they were to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Used 2 cans chicken broth, 1 hot pepper, and 1 tsp. sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
These were great! Made them last night after I realized I didn't have any BBQ sauce to make lima beans the way I usually do. We were all pleasantly surprised at the outcome. However, I do need to mention that I used 2 tbs. onion powder and 1 tsp. minced garlic in them instead of chopped onion. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This was good, but not much different from the way I usually do lima beans. I've never met a bean I didn't like! I have to take issue with the reviewer who preached to southerners. The reviewer painted with a very broad brush. Yes, there is obesity among many southerners as with other parts of the country, but a very large number are fit and watch what they eat. Some, unfortunately, cannot afford to eat healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
The original recipe seemed a little flat so I improvised. First I omitted the water, broth was more then enough liquid. I sauteed shallots & garlic in butter instead of cooking spray. Simmered the beans on low for about 30 minutes and took the lid partially off so the beans would absorb the remaining broth. Once the beans were cooked completely, I added more butter, Creole seasoning salt and pepper. DELISH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Great as is...thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
DELICIOUS!I will never cook lima beans another way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I can't usually get my husband to eat lima beans at all, but this recipe made them interesting enough even for him. I loved them as well and will for sure make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pan-Fried Butter Beans

See how to make a flavorful, super-easy side for roasted meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States