Easy Lima Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I used College Inn Chicken Broth with Roasted Garlic and 2 tsp dried diced onion because I didn't have regular chix broth or fresh onion. It really turned out delish! Tasted rich, like there was butter in the mix, but without all the guilt. I'll definitely spruce up frozen lima beans this way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vernon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
These are fantastic. Very easy. I added seasalt and ground black pepper once I added the beans to the water. Will definetely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Add a little salt and pepper and you're set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Tasty & healthy dish, but I didn't like the onion texture in these, so I substitute 1/2 tsp of onion powder. You also can substitute bouillon for the broth. Salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
After trying a few different lima bean recipes that my 5-year-old hated I tried this one. Finally, we have a winner! She told me to "always make lima beans this way because they're JUST right". Can't argue with that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I usually don't cook limas at home because I know they will never be as good as those I used to get at the restaurant I worked at in high school, but this recipe comes close. First time I made it, I was too impatient and didn't let them simmer long enough. Though a little hard for my taste, they were still outstanding. When I let them cook the full time, they were to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Used 2 cans chicken broth, 1 hot pepper, and 1 tsp. sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
These were great! Made them last night after I realized I didn't have any BBQ sauce to make lima beans the way I usually do. We were all pleasantly surprised at the outcome. However, I do need to mention that I used 2 tbs. onion powder and 1 tsp. minced garlic in them instead of chopped onion. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This was good, but not much different from the way I usually do lima beans. I've never met a bean I didn't like! I have to take issue with the reviewer who preached to southerners. The reviewer painted with a very broad brush. Yes, there is obesity among many southerners as with other parts of the country, but a very large number are fit and watch what they eat. Some, unfortunately, cannot afford to eat healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
The original recipe seemed a little flat so I improvised. First I omitted the water, broth was more then enough liquid. I sauteed shallots & garlic in butter instead of cooking spray. Simmered the beans on low for about 30 minutes and took the lid partially off so the beans would absorb the remaining broth. Once the beans were cooked completely, I added more butter, Creole seasoning salt and pepper. DELISH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Pan-Fried Butter Beans

See how to make a flavorful, super-easy side for roasted meats.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States