Easy Lima Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I have been looking for a quick and easy lima bean recipe and am thrilled to say that this is the one!!! We love onions so I used a whole medium-sized onion and in addition to the cooking spray, I used a tablespoon of olive oil to saute the onions. The 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth was plenty and I did not have to add any water. As other reviewers did, I added salt, pepper and garlic powder to taste. Absolutely out of this world!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Tasty for a healthy alternative to fixing lima beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is something our whole family loves, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Fantastic Recipe! Neither my wife or I care for Lima beans, but these are amazing. After simmering for 30 minutes, mix 2 TBSP of corn starch with 2 TBSP water then add to beans. Turn heat to high and boil for about 3-4 minutes stirring occasionally until thickened. This makes a fantastic gravy for your beans to swim in. The gravy kicks things up a level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This lima beans recipe was awesome!!!!!! Made it for dinner and my daughter who is 24 loved it. Would definately, make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I am relatively new to cooking. I am not a fan of lima GREAT!!! I have a picky four year old and he was eager to eat these beans. Even my fiancee enjoyed the meal that I made with these lima beans. He usually uses turkey to season his beans, but thought the chicken stock worked well. A great veggie recipe that I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
LOVE IT! Tweeked a little. Sauted using olive oil. Doubled the recipe, used very large Vidalia onion. Used spike seasoning, salt, pepper. Used electric skillet. Used 3 cups water and 3 chicken boullon cubes. About tablespoon of butter. No more water was needed. Simmered in electric skillet until beans soft. Resulted in some creamy sauce when done. It turned out awesome! Sweet, buttery, melt in your mouth beans. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This recipe is pretty good. As a poor college student, I added some smoked turkey slices to it at the end and made it a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Always thought Lima Beans were bland and boring, NOT anymore - great recipe! I keep frozen Lima's in my freezer at all times now for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pan-Fried Butter Beans

See how to make a flavorful, super-easy side for roasted meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States