Easy Lima Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
They were good and easy. The broth gave them some good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Wow! My picky husband loved these! I altered it a bit. I used 16 oz. bag and when I cooked them added a tsp. of bacon grease w/ drippings. Since I used more beans I upped the butter to 2 Tbsp., the mustard to 1 1/4 tsp. and the lemon juice to 2 Tbsp. Left the sugar alone so it wasn't so sweet - may reduce this even more in future. Also added a dash of black pepper. DEFINITELY will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bastrop, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I have been looking for a quick and easy lima bean recipe and am thrilled to say that this is the one!!! We love onions so I used a whole medium-sized onion and in addition to the cooking spray, I used a tablespoon of olive oil to saute the onions. The 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth was plenty and I did not have to add any water. As other reviewers did, I added salt, pepper and garlic powder to taste. Absolutely out of this world!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Tasty for a healthy alternative to fixing lima beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is something our whole family loves, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Fantastic Recipe! Neither my wife or I care for Lima beans, but these are amazing. After simmering for 30 minutes, mix 2 TBSP of corn starch with 2 TBSP water then add to beans. Turn heat to high and boil for about 3-4 minutes stirring occasionally until thickened. This makes a fantastic gravy for your beans to swim in. The gravy kicks things up a level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This lima beans recipe was awesome!!!!!! Made it for dinner and my daughter who is 24 loved it. Would definately, make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I am relatively new to cooking. I am not a fan of lima GREAT!!! I have a picky four year old and he was eager to eat these beans. Even my fiancee enjoyed the meal that I made with these lima beans. He usually uses turkey to season his beans, but thought the chicken stock worked well. A great veggie recipe that I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
LOVE IT! Tweeked a little. Sauted using olive oil. Doubled the recipe, used very large Vidalia onion. Used spike seasoning, salt, pepper. Used electric skillet. Used 3 cups water and 3 chicken boullon cubes. About tablespoon of butter. No more water was needed. Simmered in electric skillet until beans soft. Resulted in some creamy sauce when done. It turned out awesome! Sweet, buttery, melt in your mouth beans. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Pan-Fried Butter Beans

See how to make a flavorful, super-easy side for roasted meats.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States