Easy Lemon and Garlic Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Great recipe! This so easy to prepare and yet so good. The lemon and garlic paired together really make this broccoli side dish stand out. It's delicious all by itself and makes a great side dish. Before serving I topped it with a little lemon zest. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I broke my broccoli into smaller florets, mine were done in just under ten minutes. I used homemade roasted garlic in this recipe. To make the roasted garlic easier to use, I just smushed it with the back of a spoon into a paste, then mashed it into the butter before adding the butter to the skillet, then the broccoli (I skipped the browned garlic step). I did add just a touch of crushed red pepper when I added the fresh ground black pepper. This was delicious. My one issue with this recipe is there wasn't enough for bigger servings, we all wanted more. Next time, I'd double the recipe in the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This is sooooooo gooooood. I threw some nuts (hazel and pecan) in for extra flavour, as I used this for a mine course, but honestly, I thought that the nuts dragged it down and that it would have been tastier without them. Definitely the way I will be doing broccoli as a side dish in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Really good!! BRIGHT GREEN broccoli has antioxidants in the green color at their peak, and 10-15 minutes is too long. I cooked it for about 4 minutes, cut in smaller pieces so the stems were tender crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I am giving this a 5 for flavor. It was very tasty! I was trying to copy the broccoli, served on the plates at restaurants. This came pretty close. The only thing I changed was cutting the black pepper in half. I also only needed to cook the butter garlic sauce for 4 minutes and the garlic was golden browned. I weighed the 1 lb of broccoli out and it came to 7 3/4 cup of fresh brocoli florets. I put them in a pan with 3" sides to steam. I felt the steaming method, with so little water, was literally dry steaming. For that reason, the larger pieces stay a bright green, but the smaller ones get a little browned. I might tinker with that a bit next time. I would also like to see if a lighter sat fat version of butter will work, like butter with olive oil or canola oil blend. As is, though, I ate 2 servings and had to stop myself! As it cooks down a little, this will only yield about 2 good sized servings. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I cut the recipe in half and used frozen broccoli and minced garlic from a jar. Good flavor; more lemony than garlicky. Tasted good but the browning of the broccoli was a bit of a turn off. I haven’t seen brown broccoli but the flavor was there. I will try steaming with an actual steamer next time and just add the lemon juice during the second step. I added grated parmesan at the end. I rated 4 stars only because of the brown broccoli being a bit off-putting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I tried this tonight as a side to my tenderloin. It was tasty! It's best straight from the pan to the plate to your mouth, so make it your last item removed from the stove. I gave it 5 stars because overall the recipe title says it all- it's easy to prepare, lemony, and garlicy. Edited: after making this recipe multiple times (we LOVE broccoli!), I now steam my broccoli in a steamer basket instead of cooking it in a pan. (I didn't like that the broccoli turned brown). I pour my lemon juice over the broccoli and leave it to steam. When finished, I place the steamed broccoli in a glass pyrex bowl and squeeze 1/2 fresh lemon over it, pour the melted butter & slightly browned garlic directly in the bowl, cover, shake and serve. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Garlic, lemon and butter - not really a recipe, and a pretty basic seasoning for vegetables, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by arich01
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I loved this recipe! So simple, but the flavors really pop! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This turned out amazing. I totally loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buckle4up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Longbranch, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States