Easy Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LadyBug06445
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe. It was easy to follow and way quicker than making a traditional lemon meringue pie. After reading some of the other posts about the filling not setting I did not want to take a chance so I did add 1 tablespoon of corn starch mixed with a touch of water to the mixture while cooking. I also added 3/4 cup of lemon juice instead of 1/2 a cup, simply because of our personal preference for a tangier pie. As others did, I too beat the egg whites with 1/4 cup of sugar to top the pie with a meringue. Some people posted the over whelming taste of the sweetened condensed milk but I did not have that problem. Maybe they did not cook it long enough or it could also be that I added corn starch and more lemon juice than what the original recipe called for. All in all we really enjoyed this pie and I will definitely make again. The next time i think i will double the recipe because the original as is does not fill the pie crust. A great recipe though. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyBug06445

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This is by far the easiest and tastiest recipe for lemon pie that I have found. There's no scientific mixing and measuring with corn starch and flour to muddy up the taste. This recipe is straight forward. I decided to whip the egg whites in with the egg yolks to give the filling a lighter texture. Next time I will add lemon zest and a little more lemon juice, as I like my pie on the tart side. Thank you Nancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Very yummy! We loved this pie, followed recipe exactly. It is delicious! A definite keeper for my recipe collection. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
WOW! I havent tried this yet, but i will! father's day is coming up and my dads fav pie is lemon meringue, so this looks perfect! i will right another review when i make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cake_monsta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
wow i tried this recipe and it was simple and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason#13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
it was awesome!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Great recipe and so simple. I used a prepared graham cracker crust. I beat the 2 egg whites and incorporated them into the filling, which made the pie a little fluffier. Instead of cooking the filling, I just filled the pie shell and baked it at 375 degrees for 10 minutes. Much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I followed the directions and I did not have enough to fill my 9 inch pie shell half full. Will try again but double ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This was really strange. It wasn't a pretty yellow color-- it looked more like a butterscotch or carmel pie. There was not enough filling for the pie crust so it was really flat. The taste was interesting, but not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This pie was so easy and so tasty! It was a huge hit at Christmas. I used a premade pie shell and I whipped up the egg whites for the top. I baked it for about 5 min untill the top turned a bit brown. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States