Easy Lemon Lover's Bundt® Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I made this today for my husband's birthday and everyone loved it! I didn't have sour cream so I substituted greek yogurt left out the lemon extract and Poppy seeds! I still gave it 5 stars because lemon extract and Poppy seeds wouldn't make a difference. Rater Ellie mentioned the box sizes have changed in recent years and wondered if you needed to make adjustments? I did not, i used a 15.25 Duncan Hines and everything turned out delish! As an experiment I placed my Bundt Pan in about 2 inches of Water while it cooked! I was concerned how that greek yogurt was going to work. My cake was very moist. Next time I will try without the water bath and see if the moistness changes! Also, i made a powdered sugar and lemon juice glaze with lemon zest! Which is my go to glaze for any lemon cake! This will be my new lemon cake recipe which replaces the one I have sworn by for the past 25 years. I have a Meyer Lemon tree so I'm not sure how the taste is while using your basic lemon which is tarter than a Meyer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
It disappeared at a potluck and I tried a slice - very lemony and delicious. I made it in a tube pan and poured a lemon glaze over top (melted butter, icing sugar, lemon juice, a bit of zest). Generally I don't use mixes but this cake is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Best lemon cake ever, though I added almost a half cup of water, drizzled fresh lemon juice in the top after making little holes with a toothpick, and iced it with powdered sugar mixed with lemon juice. Also added blueberries, optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Tried this for the first time today. I made it for a neighbor who had just lost his father. I followed the directions exactly and it looked and smelled yummy? I too, used to make the lemon bundt cake recipe on the side of the lemon cake mix. This should be much more "lemony"... Should also be more moist with the addition of sour cream, etc. As far as the different sizes in the cake mixes goes, I had never noticed (how observant of me) and have been continuing to make recipes that call for a mix with no ill effects. Thanks for, what looks to me, like it will be my new favorite lemon cake!!! I also sprinkled powdered sugar over the whole cake to make it look a little more special...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Kyle Long

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dubaubel
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This is the best lemon bundt cake ever. I used to make the recipe on the side of the box of lemon cake. It's similar to this one in that you add lemon instant pudding; however it just was never lemony enough. The fresh lemon juice and zest really make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dubaubel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Served this with strawberries and vanilla ice cream - Fathers Day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen Jeffery

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This recipe sounds fantastic so I gave it 5 stars. However, I haven't tried making it. My reason is that it's no longer possible to find any brand of cake mix that weighs 18.25 oz., which means the amount of the other ingredients called for are going to be thrown off. Betty Crocker and Pillsbury mixes, that used to be 18.25 oz., are now 15.25 oz. Duncan Hines is now 16.5 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I love lemon cake(lemon anything) and desired to find an easy recipe for a MOPS breakfast so I decided to try this and WOW!! this was DELICIOUS!!! Here are a few adjectives to describe: decadent, moist, flavorful and simple to make. I didn't make any changes(I make changes to recipes when they fail me) and this doesn't need any tweaking whatsoever. I actually have to say it's amazing and I went back for a second slice;) I received rave reviews and encouraged to make it for a bake sale. I hope you decide to try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracydenese29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I made this lemon cake in two, round pans and iced it with a butter lemon frosting, and served it for a birthday celebration. I didn't have any lemon extract or poppy seeds, so omitted those ingredients, and added a little bit more lemon juice (freshly squeezed, of course!). It was fabulous and got rave reviews from everyone there. Moist, delicious, authentically lemony. I can't believe it doesn't have more reviews on it yet, but I was very impressed. Took very little time to assemble
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This recipe was so easy and it's one of those recipes that every ingredient is usually on hand in your pantry. I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't add the poppy seeds, as they were optional. This cake would be excellent with fresh strawberries on top! Hummmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer63

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States