Easy Lemon Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I made these using yellow cake mix and using anise extract instead of lemon. They were delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
My mother & I absolutely love these cookies. I made them almost exactly like the recipe except for these small items. 1. Like other reviewers have said if you try and roll these in the confectioners sugar right away it is a sticky mess. So with that being said here is what I have learned to do. If you are in a hurry put the bowl with dough in freezer until it just begins to harden. Use a small cookie dough scooper (like the ice cream ones) then roll in the confectioners sugar. If you are not in a hurry put dough in the refrigerator overnight, again a lot easier to handle. 2. I also put 2 Tablespoons of lemon juice in the dough as mother likes hers real lemony. Personal preference. Cooked mine about 3 minutes longer, could be my oven. I also found it quite hard to find a 18.25 lemon cake mix in our local stores but was able to find them 10 miles away at Big Lots for $1.25. Bought 2 & should have bought more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Absolutely delicious! The next day after making these my husband brought home 2 boxes of lemon cake mix and begged for more of these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Love these! Extremely easy to make, soft, and delicious. I haven't met anyone who has not loved them so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmeraldCityGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This makes cookies that are tasty in a "store bought" rather than homemade way. Other reviewers compare the flavor to fruit loops and I would agree with that comparison. Good luck finding an 18.25 ounce cake mix as they've been downsized. I still made the cookies according to the directions with my 16.5 ounce Duncan Hines Lemon Supreme cake mix and the cookies turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
My son requested a "lemon dessert" today. When I found this recipe, I was unsure if it'd work because I had to modify the ingredients based on what I had in the house. I used a regular YELLOW CAKE MIX and the ZEST & JUICE OF ONE LARGE LEMON (in place of a lemon cake mix and lemon extract). I kept the other ingredients the same. It actually turned out really lemony and delicious! Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
The dough was more like a batter, making it hard to form into balls and roll in the sugar. I put it in the freezer a while and it helped some but it was still kind of messy. Overall, they were pretty good but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
The dough was sticky. Should have chilled it before rolling into the powdered sugar. 9 minutes was not enough baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Well...used yellow cake mix instead of lemon. Added real lemon juice to compensate. I don't know, purhaps because I did that, made them turn out nasty. So bad, I don't think I will try again even if I do follow the recipe next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
So easy and simple. I had a sweet tooth tonight but was looking for something quick and easy. This fit the bill. I did not have lemon extract on hand, so used bottled lemon juice and 1 tsp vanilla extract. Also, with the remaining powdered sugar I added 1 tbs lemon juice, 2 tbs melted butter and whisked into an icing. Drizzled just a little on each cookie and this gave it an extra lemony flavor and who doesn't like icing???!!! I will use the base recipe of: 1 box cake mix, 2 eggs, 1/3 cup oil for other cookie flavors. You can't make cookies for less money than 1 box of cake mix + rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,096) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States