Easy Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
I've been making a cake similar to this for years. It has a few differences though. Use only 2/3 C water and 3/4 C oil. Omit lemon extract. Bake in a bundt cake pan for 40 minutes at 350. Use only 2T lemon juice for glaze. Glaze after slightly cooled. This gives a much better cake to glaze ration. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie-Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
I followed the directions to the letter and this cake was not good. I wondered about the lemon gelatin rather than pudding, but I used it. And then the "frosting" was like liquid. There is SO MUCH sugar in this recipe, it is almost in puddles in the bottom of the pan -- the cake is wet from it. Someone tell me what I did wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I made this one for a birthday and it got rave reviews. I used a fork to poke lots of holes in the cake before covering w/ glaze. Followed another reviewers recommendation and added a dab of butter to the glaze, along with some freshly grated lemon rind. Fresh squeezed lemon juice made it all the more tasty. I think this one is even better the next day, moist and more lemony. Next time, I will make it the day before serving. Good & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GULFTRADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I'm giving this recipe four stars only b/c I made changes...it would be five stars otherwise. For those of you who thought the cake was a bit too sweet, you may want to try using lemon flavored pudding mix instead of gelatin. I took a box of D.H. french vanilla cake mix and added four eggs, 2/3 C oil, 1 C buttermilk (no water), and instead of lemon extract and gelatin I used the rind of one lemon, about four Tbsp. of fresh juice, and about half a package of lemon-flavored pudding as well as two heaping scoops of sour cream. This 'softened' the lemon flavor and didn't taste too sweet. Lemon tends to amplify sugar in any recipe, so I say to cut down on the tartness in the cake and just keep the glaze really sweet. This was basically a lemon-flavored pudding/pound cake that was sooo moist and very good with the simply lemon glaze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
Yummy. I did substitute lemon cake mix and doubled the glaze/frosting because I wanted a more intense lemon flavor. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I would make this again. I didn't have and lemon extract so I substituted the juice of one lemon and added a bit of grated lemon rind to the cake mix. It turned out very moist and lemony! I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I made this recipe with lemon cake mix, and didn't add any lemon extract. It turned out moist and delicious. My husband loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
My family loved this cake. Made in a bundt pan and it came out perfect. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I love lemon cake and am somewhat of a lemon cake snob. Must be lemony with right mix of sweet/tart. No heavy icing. MUST be moist. I would love to be able to make everything from scratch but then we would never eat around here! This cake is AWESOME!!! I always get a little worried when trying a new recipe in case it is all hype and doesn't deliver. This delivers. Don't know why anyone would rate it not good unless they did something wrong. Of course I made some slight changes. No extract - fresh lemon juice (4T). Used the DH Classic Yellow mix, instant lemon pudding. I was a little worried it wouldn't be lemony enough when I tested the batter. Not to worry. Also for the icing, used just the lemon juice and confec. sugar (mix well) and added lots of pulp and about 1-2t of zest. It is a runny icing so SLOWLY drizzle. Made it the night before as a bundt cake for an afternoon meeting the next day. SO MOIST. Very lemony. The icing seeped into the cake and amazing. It's all gone! I think that I would try it with lemon cake mix to see if that made it even better but not sure. It pretty well rocks! Did I say I liked the cake?? Don't know why the icing in the photo on the site is so white though. Mine didn't look that way. You should give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This Lemon cake is soo moist and delicious, but i left out the lemon extract and used 3/4 cups of lemon juice. Use cool whip for the topping. to decorate put sliced lemons at the corners. You'll love it even more than the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States