Easy Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I used this for the cake - I used 1 pkg for lemon jello-and no lemon extract (didn't have any), but I did have a real lemon- and I squeezed all of the juice into the batter along with the zest of the lemon. VERY delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Perhaps the worst cake I've ever made. It stuck to the pan, came out in pieces and the icing and glaze take 5 cups of conf. sugar -- way too sweet. The texture is like gravel and its dry. It uses 8 egg yolks and no egg white so it lacks a soft consistency. There isn't a single thing about this recipe I liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hawthorn Woods, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
It was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Pretty Good and Sweet I used lemon cake mix and half of the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Koons

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
My mother used to make this, I was looking for the recipe and made it this weekend, it was gone in two days, I don't why someone would say this is too sweet, perfect balance of lemon and sweet, great! Substitued lemon juice for extract, 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is a great recipe..but the version I have used is a tad different...while the cake is still warm you should poke it with a fork all over the top..THEN...SLOWLY pour icing on and some sees into the cake..always a family favorite !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I have made this cake so many times since I got the recipe. Would recommend it highly. So easy to make and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I used the originial recipe and the cake was very good. I took it to work and shared it with my coworkers. They loved it. It is very pretty with the lemon halves around it. Perfect I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I'm giving this recipe four stars only b/c I made changes...it would be five stars otherwise. For those of you who thought the cake was a bit too sweet, you may want to try using lemon flavored pudding mix instead of gelatin. I took a box of D.H. french vanilla cake mix and added four eggs, 2/3 C oil, 1 C buttermilk (no water), and instead of lemon extract and gelatin I used the rind of one lemon, about four Tbsp. of fresh juice, and about half a package of lemon-flavored pudding as well as two heaping scoops of sour cream. This 'softened' the lemon flavor and didn't taste too sweet. Lemon tends to amplify sugar in any recipe, so I say to cut down on the tartness in the cake and just keep the glaze really sweet. This was basically a lemon-flavored pudding/pound cake that was sooo moist and very good with the simply lemon glaze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This cake is a favorite of our family. My mother made this for years and her recipe has a few additions which make all the difference, Sub apricot nectar for the water and separate eggs, beat egg whites and fold in to make a light and intensely favored lemon cake. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States