Easy Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This cake is a favorite of our family. My mother made this for years and her recipe has a few additions which make all the difference, Sub apricot nectar for the water and separate eggs, beat egg whites and fold in to make a light and intensely favored lemon cake. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This cake is fantastic. I made it as written except taking a suggestion mentioned numerous times in reviews of using a lemon cake mix instead of yellow. This tastes almost like fresh lemon bars. It is so moist and just sweet and tart enough. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Used to make a similar recipe as a kid but since then I had forgotten how...made this recipe for fathers day, and my husband nearly finished it all by himself. It's exactly how I remembered it! Perfect moisture and holds together well. Will keep this recipe for all of my fruity cakes. Trying it out on a strawberry cake today. Should be scrumptous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaT33
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This is one of my all time favorite, go-to recipes. Its easy and delicious. I'm actually known within my group of friends as having the best lemon cake so it often gets requested for parties and birthdays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Excellent recipe! Made this with my daughter last night and she is very happy with the results. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Very moist and lemony. I think 4 tbsp lemon juice in the glaze was too much. I wanted a slightly thicker glaze that would stay on the cake better. Oh and I didn't have lemon extract so I substituted with lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. We loved it. This cake was excellent. Even my husband who is not big on cakes in general ate two peices every day! I used a lemon cake mix but was out of lemon jello so used the strawberry I had on hand then followed the recipe exactly for the rest of it. Who would have thought it would still be so great, but it was! Cake was light moist and tangy. I can only imagine how good it will be with all lemon. I am going to make it again this weekend when my sister comes from Colorado! Hmmm maybe strawberry cake mix with strawberry jello, gosh can't wait to try lots of different combinations. LOL Thanks again for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Made this for Easter with lemon cake mix and lemon pudding mix. It was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Petrie Cable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This is a very easy recipe. Like others I used a lemon cake mix and I also added fresh squeezed lemon juice and lemon rind to the mix, but did not use lemon extract. For the glaze, I also used fresh lemon juice along with lemon rind and a little heavy cream along with the powdered sugar. I did not follow the amounts as per the recipe, but just used enough of the 3 ingredients just stated until it reached the consistency and flavor I wanted. I poured a little on while the cake was hot, then after it cooled I put the rest on. It came out nice and very lemony. And my entire house smelled lovely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
you guys don't laugh at me but i didn't read the recipe right and i put all the ingredients in the cake using a lemon cake mix and the bunt cake fell in; but it was the most fantastic lemony cake i ever had. i made it again and use less than a 1/3 cup of confectioners sugar in it and 2 round pans it didn't fall in but it wasn't fluffy but it was still fantastic. oh yeah i used pudding both times and not gelatin. next time i'll try it with the gelatin. this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States