Easy Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Used to make a similar recipe as a kid but since then I had forgotten how...made this recipe for fathers day, and my husband nearly finished it all by himself. It's exactly how I remembered it! Perfect moisture and holds together well. Will keep this recipe for all of my fruity cakes. Trying it out on a strawberry cake today. Should be scrumptous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaT33
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This is one of my all time favorite, go-to recipes. Its easy and delicious. I'm actually known within my group of friends as having the best lemon cake so it often gets requested for parties and birthdays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Excellent recipe! Made this with my daughter last night and she is very happy with the results. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Very moist and lemony. I think 4 tbsp lemon juice in the glaze was too much. I wanted a slightly thicker glaze that would stay on the cake better. Oh and I didn't have lemon extract so I substituted with lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. We loved it. This cake was excellent. Even my husband who is not big on cakes in general ate two peices every day! I used a lemon cake mix but was out of lemon jello so used the strawberry I had on hand then followed the recipe exactly for the rest of it. Who would have thought it would still be so great, but it was! Cake was light moist and tangy. I can only imagine how good it will be with all lemon. I am going to make it again this weekend when my sister comes from Colorado! Hmmm maybe strawberry cake mix with strawberry jello, gosh can't wait to try lots of different combinations. LOL Thanks again for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Made this for Easter with lemon cake mix and lemon pudding mix. It was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This is a very easy recipe. Like others I used a lemon cake mix and I also added fresh squeezed lemon juice and lemon rind to the mix, but did not use lemon extract. For the glaze, I also used fresh lemon juice along with lemon rind and a little heavy cream along with the powdered sugar. I did not follow the amounts as per the recipe, but just used enough of the 3 ingredients just stated until it reached the consistency and flavor I wanted. I poured a little on while the cake was hot, then after it cooled I put the rest on. It came out nice and very lemony. And my entire house smelled lovely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
you guys don't laugh at me but i didn't read the recipe right and i put all the ingredients in the cake using a lemon cake mix and the bunt cake fell in; but it was the most fantastic lemony cake i ever had. i made it again and use less than a 1/3 cup of confectioners sugar in it and 2 round pans it didn't fall in but it wasn't fluffy but it was still fantastic. oh yeah i used pudding both times and not gelatin. next time i'll try it with the gelatin. this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was a great recipe!!! I used 1/2 package of lemon pudding and 1/2 package of lemon gelatin..Maid he cake extremely moist and spongey. Also added 1 tablespoon of flour to the glaze, stopped it from being runny and didn't change the flavor at all. Will def use the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
MY GRANDMOTHER WAS THE KIND OF WOMAN WHO MADE EVRYTHING FROM SCRATCH, NO REALLY, EVERYTHING. SHE KEPT AN ORANGE OR LEMON POUND CAKE MADE ALL THE TIME. AFTER SHE GOT SICK, I STARTED TRYING TO FIND HER RECIPE TO NO AVAIL AND THEN FOUND OUT NO ONE HAD EVER SEEN HER MIX ONE UP TO REMEMBER THE INGREDIENTS. AFTER HER DEATH WE FINALLY FOUND HER RECIPE AND THIS WAS IT, HER DEEP DARK SECRET THAT STARTED WITH A MIX. YOU CAN USE STRAWBERRY OR ORANGE ALSO AND ITS GREAT WITHOUT THE GLAZE AS WELL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: Elkhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States