Easy Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
LOVED this. Brought it to our Wine Club and it was a HUGE hit. I used only 2/3 c water and kept the extract. I added 1 cup chopped walnuts to bottom of bundt pan, baked at 350 for 40 mins. Let it cool for 30 mins then poked holes used 1 c powdered sugar w 2T lemon juice and zest. Also added 2 containers fresh raspberries in center and around edges. It was beautiful and extremely moist and refreshing. Great recipe for potluck or party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I used a cup of coconut rum instead of water and decreased the oil to 1.2 cup - the results were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Firth, Idaho, USA
Living In: Moreland, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I used this for the cake - I used 1 pkg for lemon jello-and no lemon extract (didn't have any), but I did have a real lemon- and I squeezed all of the juice into the batter along with the zest of the lemon. VERY delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Perhaps the worst cake I've ever made. It stuck to the pan, came out in pieces and the icing and glaze take 5 cups of conf. sugar -- way too sweet. The texture is like gravel and its dry. It uses 8 egg yolks and no egg white so it lacks a soft consistency. There isn't a single thing about this recipe I liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hawthorn Woods, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
It was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Pretty Good and Sweet I used lemon cake mix and half of the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Koons

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
My mother used to make this, I was looking for the recipe and made it this weekend, it was gone in two days, I don't why someone would say this is too sweet, perfect balance of lemon and sweet, great! Substitued lemon juice for extract, 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is a great recipe..but the version I have used is a tad different...while the cake is still warm you should poke it with a fork all over the top..THEN...SLOWLY pour icing on and some sees into the cake..always a family favorite !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I have made this cake so many times since I got the recipe. Would recommend it highly. So easy to make and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I used the originial recipe and the cake was very good. I took it to work and shared it with my coworkers. They loved it. It is very pretty with the lemon halves around it. Perfect I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States