Easy Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Excellen and flavor of this lemon cake. I like a tangy lemon flavor and this is it. My grandma used to make a cake very similar to this in a 9x13 pan, she topped it with the glaze and then cream cheese frosting, it was amazing! This is very similar to the lemon cake at Starbucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I followed the recipe except for I substituted lemon pudding instead of lemon gelatin and I added some lemon zest to the icing. The cake was very moist and flavorful. It was gobbled up before the night was over. I plan on making it again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Delicious, completely unhealthy. This is my boyfriend's favorite. I make more more icing then the recipe calls for to put on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
A friend of ours had had surgery and I took this cake as a get well offering. My husband is not a lemon lover, so I was skeptical. Everyone loved it!!! It was easy to make and took no time at all. Since we left the rest there, he requested I make one for home. Two enthusiastic thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pennylaine3680

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavittsburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Don's BD cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I substituted a small box of instant lemon pudding for the lemon gelatin and added a small amount of lemon juice for the lemon extract. I only used 1 1/2 T of lemon juice for the frosting and then finished up the frosting with milk (I added just enough milk for it to become frosting). It was very moist and just lemonly enough w/out becoming a cake that has lemon taking over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I also received this from my mother in law. However I boil the water and add the gelatin, mix well and cool then add to the cake mix, oil, eggs,and extract. This is EXCELLENT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is great as written. I like the sour of the lemon and the sweetness of the icing. I added the zest of 1 lemon to the icing and as many as 4-5 lemons (zest) to the cake itself. Stong lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geno McKenna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I'm a little dissapointed in this recipe because it has rave reviews. Slighty better than the lemon cake out of a a box but I'm not quite sure what all of the excitement is about because as said before it has a distinct box cake look & taste. Also the glaze is extremely watery as written and I am sure that the cake will be soggy in the morning =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
We weren't crazy about this. I'm sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States