Easy Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
A friend of ours had had surgery and I took this cake as a get well offering. My husband is not a lemon lover, so I was skeptical. Everyone loved it!!! It was easy to make and took no time at all. Since we left the rest there, he requested I make one for home. Two enthusiastic thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pennylaine3680

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavittsburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Don's BD cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I substituted a small box of instant lemon pudding for the lemon gelatin and added a small amount of lemon juice for the lemon extract. I only used 1 1/2 T of lemon juice for the frosting and then finished up the frosting with milk (I added just enough milk for it to become frosting). It was very moist and just lemonly enough w/out becoming a cake that has lemon taking over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I also received this from my mother in law. However I boil the water and add the gelatin, mix well and cool then add to the cake mix, oil, eggs,and extract. This is EXCELLENT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is great as written. I like the sour of the lemon and the sweetness of the icing. I added the zest of 1 lemon to the icing and as many as 4-5 lemons (zest) to the cake itself. Stong lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I'm a little dissapointed in this recipe because it has rave reviews. Slighty better than the lemon cake out of a a box but I'm not quite sure what all of the excitement is about because as said before it has a distinct box cake look & taste. Also the glaze is extremely watery as written and I am sure that the cake will be soggy in the morning =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
We weren't crazy about this. I'm sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
LOVED this. Brought it to our Wine Club and it was a HUGE hit. I used only 2/3 c water and kept the extract. I added 1 cup chopped walnuts to bottom of bundt pan, baked at 350 for 40 mins. Let it cool for 30 mins then poked holes used 1 c powdered sugar w 2T lemon juice and zest. Also added 2 containers fresh raspberries in center and around edges. It was beautiful and extremely moist and refreshing. Great recipe for potluck or party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I used a cup of coconut rum instead of water and decreased the oil to 1.2 cup - the results were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Firth, Idaho, USA
Living In: Moreland, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I used this for the cake - I used 1 pkg for lemon jello-and no lemon extract (didn't have any), but I did have a real lemon- and I squeezed all of the juice into the batter along with the zest of the lemon. VERY delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States