Easy Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This is good; however, I love love lemon/tart desserts...so I added the juice of one lemon and the zest to a Lemon cake mix. Omitted the extract and use the juice of two fresh lemons the zest to the powder sugar for the glaze. Huge hit. Great recipe and yes the lemon jello works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
My husband dies for this cake - it's so yummy! I added 1 cup of frozen cranberries and the zest of one lemon to the batter before baking. Makes a delicious and light dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This cake is amazing! I made it for a picnic at our church and it was an instant hit! My only regret was that I didn't make more than one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIMCLAREN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sharpsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Read reviews and made some changes. I don't usually use boxes for cakes but I was in a hurry to whip up a treat. I added lemon zest and used pudding mix! I also increased the lemon extract! I had some fresh blueberries so I added them. The kids made fresh whipped cream to put on top!! My husband made a face when he saw I was using a boxed cake, but after dinner I caught him in the kitchen stealing another bite! So I would recommend this cake in a pinch! Thanks for the recipe and reviewers advice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This cake was delicious and moist....I used a lemon cake mix, I added lemon pudding and 1/2 teaspoon of lemon flavor/extract....the cake is yummy yummy yummy.....I did the icing as directed and it was perfect; not to sweet and not to light....just a perfect recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anna's Retreat, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I love lemon cake and am somewhat of a lemon cake snob. Must be lemony with right mix of sweet/tart. No heavy icing. MUST be moist. I would love to be able to make everything from scratch but then we would never eat around here! This cake is AWESOME!!! I always get a little worried when trying a new recipe in case it is all hype and doesn't deliver. This delivers. Don't know why anyone would rate it not good unless they did something wrong. Of course I made some slight changes. No extract - fresh lemon juice (4T). Used the DH Classic Yellow mix, instant lemon pudding. I was a little worried it wouldn't be lemony enough when I tested the batter. Not to worry. Also for the icing, used just the lemon juice and confec. sugar (mix well) and added lots of pulp and about 1-2t of zest. It is a runny icing so SLOWLY drizzle. Made it the night before as a bundt cake for an afternoon meeting the next day. SO MOIST. Very lemony. The icing seeped into the cake and amazing. It's all gone! I think that I would try it with lemon cake mix to see if that made it even better but not sure. It pretty well rocks! Did I say I liked the cake?? Don't know why the icing in the photo on the site is so white though. Mine didn't look that way. You should give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Excellen and flavor of this lemon cake. I like a tangy lemon flavor and this is it. My grandma used to make a cake very similar to this in a 9x13 pan, she topped it with the glaze and then cream cheese frosting, it was amazing! This is very similar to the lemon cake at Starbucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I followed the recipe except for I substituted lemon pudding instead of lemon gelatin and I added some lemon zest to the icing. The cake was very moist and flavorful. It was gobbled up before the night was over. I plan on making it again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Delicious, completely unhealthy. This is my boyfriend's favorite. I make more more icing then the recipe calls for to put on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States