Easy Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This cake was very juicy...all of the flavors combined well! It reminds me of my great-grandmother's lemon cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I made this one for a birthday and it got rave reviews. I used a fork to poke lots of holes in the cake before covering w/ glaze. Followed another reviewers recommendation and added a dab of butter to the glaze, along with some freshly grated lemon rind. Fresh squeezed lemon juice made it all the more tasty. I think this one is even better the next day, moist and more lemony. Next time, I will make it the day before serving. Good & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GULFTRADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Excellent cake! My husband can't stop raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
I've been making a cake similar to this for years. It has a few differences though. Use only 2/3 C water and 3/4 C oil. Omit lemon extract. Bake in a bundt cake pan for 40 minutes at 350. Use only 2T lemon juice for glaze. Glaze after slightly cooled. This gives a much better cake to glaze ration. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie-Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
This is an old recipe, but I noticed the glaze recipe here is missing 2 Tablespoons of melted butter that my recipe has. Try it with the melted butter, I can't imagine it without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
I followed the directions to the letter and this cake was not good. I wondered about the lemon gelatin rather than pudding, but I used it. And then the "frosting" was like liquid. There is SO MUCH sugar in this recipe, it is almost in puddles in the bottom of the pan -- the cake is wet from it. Someone tell me what I did wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This cake was very good, easy to make and moist. I will make it often because my husband loves lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
Growing up this was one of my favorite desserts. My family calls it Lemon Suprise Cake. We too use lemon cake mix. If you want to make it extra fantastic, let the cake cool until it sets up a bit (15-20mins) then poke holes all over with a fork or skewer and pour the glaze all over (I double the glaze). It soaks into the cake and makes it even more moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
I made this for Easter, and it is wonderful! I wondered if a yellow cake mix and lemon gelatin mix would be an odd combination, but with the glaze, it was very lemony. It is even more moist the next few days. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOKO4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
This cake was awesome! Made it for Easter and everyone loved it. To the reviewer who said the recipe needs to say temp and how long to bake... It says bake according to package directions. You should read something all the way through and actually make it before you review it unfairly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States