Easy Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I made this exactly as directed, and it didn't come out of the pan. I have a nice non-stick fluted pan, and I even used non-stick spray to be extra sure. When I finally did remove it, the appearance was ruined, and then the cake itself crumbled. It was not dry, yet it was still crumbly. It was received well enough, but no one raved about it, and very few people finished their piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
made this recipe for my bridge club and they all had raved about how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
We tried making this cake, for the first time. We cooked it, but the cake would stay liquid. Then we turned the heat up, and the top of the cake burnt. So then we left the temp at 360 F and eventually, the cake cooked in the middle. We used brown sugar instead of confectioner's sugar, and the icing tasted amazing. The cake is good, after we got the temp right, and we would do it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SimpleCakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Like so many others, I modified this recipe to our tastes. I did use the yellow cake mix, but I used 3/4 cup fresh lemon juice in place of the water, 2 T fresh lemon zest and 1/2 t of extract. 1/2 cup oil and 1/4 cup greek yogurt in place of all oil. Thanks for the easy, versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This is the recipe that I used while my children were growing up...The only Variation that I made is to adjust the oil & water, 2/3 c. of water & 3/4 c. of oil...Everything else is the same, (eggs, jello , & cake mix)..I Love to make this in a 9 x 13 cake pan, & after the cake is cooled somewhat, I poke holes with a fork, in the cake, & then pour Glaze (omit lemon extract, just lemon juice) over the top....I then refrigerate it so it is a Refreshing Addition on a Hot Summer Day!!...Perfect to take to all of your Family Get-Togethers & Potlucks...Make sure that you take the recipe along, because you will definitely be asked for it!!...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senorateresa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Have been using this or a similar recipe for years & everyone loves it! It is very good made with orange jello/extract as well. Naturally you would use orange juice with the confectioners sugar in the glaze if you choose to make orange. Or if you have a lemon or orange cake mix you do not need the extract at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clio, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I have made this twice and my husband and I "LOVE IT". I didn't change the recipe at all. Thanks-Deborah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missfour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I made this cake as directed, except that I substituted lemon cake mix, which should only affect taste, not texture. The texture is what I really didn't like about this cake. It didn't bake up (rise) very well, and there were a lot of air-bubbles in the mix. The result was a moist enough cake, but somewhat odd in texture. I think the jello (which I too questioned, but also thought might be interesting) gave it a strange (and hard to describe) texture that wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
My kids love this. I've made it several times over the past few years - it's quick and easy when you need a potluck dessert. I only use 2T lemon juice for the topping - otherwise, it would be too runny, but I've only made it in a bundt, runny might be fine in a 9X13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Easy to put together and bakes up beautifully! I followed the recipe as stated above and baked using a greased 10" tube pan. Done in 50 minutes. Used 1 cup powdered sugar, 2.5 T lemon juice plus 2 drops natural lemon extract. Using a bamboo skewer to poke the cake on the top, the cake was glazed while hot. Moist and yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DFWPaul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States