Easy Lemon Cake Cookies with Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
Fantastically easy and yummy! I also tried this recipe with orange cake mix with orange extract in the frosting and served it at a meeting of Very Fussy Ladies who raved about them. I do agree that they are best baked exactly 8 minutes, no more, no less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
I was looking for a quick recipe to use up my box of lemon cake mix, and this was it! VERY easy and yummy. I baked my batch at exactly 8 minutes and they were perfect. I also used canned lemon frosting instead of homemade and they're just as delicious. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I was burnt out on 'Lemon Squares' for my Dad every year (HE LOVES LEMON), and gave this new cookie a try. It was just PERFECT! The cookies baked up so pretty even w/out the icing. I did mix up the icing and drizzled it a wee bit on top while they were warm. I just wanted the flavor of the icing more than anything, and didn't want them to look 'iced'...I don't even really care for Lemon flavor treats, but these were very very GOOD and Dad loved them too! :) Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoccerMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Very soft and chewy! I doubled the milk for the icing so I could drizzle it over the warm cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebugs_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
These are great with or without the frosting. I got about 3 dozen medium size cookies, and they were perfect after 8 minutes in the oven. I didn't have lemon extract so I used a few squirts of lemon juice, and it gave the icing a hint of lemon flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2001
I found that these little cookies, do not necessarily need the icing, they are just as good without, if you don't happen to have the icing ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I hated this recipe. I think this is the first time I am giving a recipe anything below a 3 star. It was easy, alright, but the cookies werent strong in taste, just in smell. The icing was thick! I had to keep adding milk. And it tasted far too sweet, not like lemon at all. I will never make these cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethislife!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Tasted overly sweet and had a bit of a chemical-aftertaste, probably because of the box cake mix. However, it was quick and easy. I will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
My kids helped make the cookies and loved them, but I also had to cook it longer than the 8 minutes. Different ovens behave differently! Also, you can skip the foil on the pans. It's better for the environment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This recipe is so easy! I was surprised how good the cookies turned out. They were soft and fluffy. I used a jar of lemon icing instead of making my own, but they were just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States