Easy Lemon Cake Cookies with Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
These are great and so easy! I made them this morning and they turned out soft and chewy and perfectly light and lemony.....just like I wanted. I added 2 tsp of lemon extract to the dough while mixing and then used canned cream cheese frosting for convenience. I will use this again and again. Couldn't be easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamassee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I liked these cookies, they were soft and fluffy (which my husband likes) i did not make the icing i used lemon store bought and they tasted great. I am making these for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These are super easy. If you don't like strong sweetness, eliminate the icing. Many cake box cookies (and cakes, for that matter) suffer from a "fake" or "tin" flavor due to the preservatives. The best is to make it from scratch, but if you choose to use the box, try adding a natural flavor to the mix. For example, add lemon juice and lemon zest to these cookies to lessen the fake flavor and cut the sweetness at the same time. For other cookie/cake flavors, consider adding real vanilla extract, almond extract, coconut milk, or whatever you like. what I love most about cooking is getting to try new things. Not all recipes appeal to my taste, but I can make changes so they work for me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
These were pretty darn good. Made a batch in an hour including clean up. I used parchment paper instead of the tinfoil lined pans and made no changes to the recipe. Will definitely make again. May try using different cakes mixes ie. spice, chocolate or cherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
my dessert loving family with a passion for anything "sweet & lemon flavored" is such a fan of this simple & delightfully tasty cookie...SO quick & easy to prepare with little cleanup required... like several other reviewers i made a few changes to "pump" up the flavor factor a bit..i add a teaspoon of lemon extract to the batter as well as some finely grated zest [& a good "squirt" of juice} from a fresh lemon...by the way, i wouldn't even bother making these unless you use freshly squeezed lemon juice...wash & dry your lemons well, & then with a little pressure using your hands, roll them back & forth across your countertop to soften up & make them easier to juice. for the icing all i add is fresh lemon juice [to taste...for my family a generous amount] to the powdered sugar. you don't want it too thick like traditional icing but more a glaze consistency to generously pour over the tops of the cookies as soon as you take them out of the oven...the glaze will quickly set up & dry leaving you a cookie with a perfect balance of sweet and tart flavors. once they've been in the oven a few minutes & puff up i use a spatula to flatten then continue baking til the edges are golden brown-i go more by color than time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Absolutely delicious! So easy to prepare....just the kind of recipe I was looking for! Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very good recipe but unless you oven tends to run hot, baking time is more like 12-15 minutes to get them done. Chill dough for several hours in the refrig and then roll in powder sugar. Easier to handle and the dough is still sticky enough for the powder sugar to coat. If making for the first time, make one smaller cookie on each cookie sheet and use that to tell when they are done. The smaller cookie will start to brown faster than the ones that are larger!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Good but next time I would not use Lemon extract in the icing. It gives it a funny aftertaste. Regardless, my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Didn't love these... it was difficult to judge baking time and the flavor was ok if you had a decent cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
BUT, I tweaked it. I used french vanilla cake mix. and for the icing I used lemon juice and zest, rather than milk and artificial lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States