Easy Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
My husband seemed to really like these but I just don't really care for fruity type desserts. He said he would like me to make again so that makes it a winner for me. They were easy to make which was a huge plus! Also I didn't find mix with pudding so I used plain lemon cake mix and I used lemon extract in place of lemon juice since I did not have it. It seemed to work out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I wouldn't have believed it. I was desperate for a non-dairy lemon bar recipe and all I had handy was HALF a box of lemon cake mix, some lemons and some Tofutti cream cheese (half a tub). I prepared the recipe exactly as directed, using HALF an egg (broken in a cup and stirred well) in the cake mix and HALF in the "cream cheese" mixture. Well, I wasn't expecting much, but it was actually very tasty, with almost no taste of cake mix at all! Made in a smaller pan, obviously, and I would recommend making a full-sized batch ... if only because everybody's going to want seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Tasted too much like cake. Its also very heavy and thick. I'll eat what I made, but won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Too dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
YUM! I'm not a huge craver of lemon stuff but these are just delicious! I made two small changes per previous reviews. 1) I doubled the filling. Hey, I AM a craver of cream cheese and figured it wouldn't hurt. :) and 2) I added a Tbls of lemon juice with some zest into the cake mix. I might add some more next time just to make it a little more tart but they're yummy as is. Thank you so much for the recipe!! They sure were easy - except for the 2nd trip to the store because I was out of sugar. Haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Very easy and very good. Popular at my afternoon tea party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I can't overemphasize how easy this recipe is. More specifically, how easy this crust is. And cheap. For about $1 you have a perfect crust. I was a little concerned how thin it was, but it expanded while cooking and was great. I'm going to use this crust recipe for all sorts of bars now. A great shortbread crust is good, but with the cost of butter these days, this takes the cake! The filling was also good, although I prefer a traditional lemon bars topping over this cream cheese one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
As published, it's a 4 star recipe, pretty good & ridiculously easy. Once the numerous reviewer recommendations are incorporated, it's a 5+ star delight. What I did: coarsely shredded rind of 1 lemon added to crust mixture. 1/4 c sliced almonds added to reserved top crust mixture. Combined 1/4 c fresh lemon juice w/ low fat cream cheese, 4 oz tub of lemon yogurt, 11 drops of NuStevia extract to filling. Bake as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phishgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaftsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Idaho City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Oh my goodness!!! I just made these bars and they are WONDERFUL! I did double the filling, based on other reviews, and I added lemon juice to the filling and the crust. These are much better than traditional lemon bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dody Hilliard Denault
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Elon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States