Easy Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
They were ok!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilmar, California, USA
Living In: Oakdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
What's wrong with me? I made this just as the recipe states-- but there was too much bottom crust and not enough filling or topping so the crust on the edge curled. I would try this again but I would reserve more of the cake mixture for topping and press the bottom crust a little thinner and I would double the filling. It could be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummyumm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
These were soooo good, and didn't taste like cake at all like others had stated. They had a really good lemony taste, and the cream cheese layer made them just delicious. Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
So easy and so yummy! I was skeptical of how this would turn out but it was great for a casual mother's day dessert. I used Lemon Supreme cake mix with a box of instant vanilla pudding mixed in and I used 1.5 packages of cream cheese with half a juicy lemon, a bit more sugar than asked for and a tsp of pure vanilla. Will definitely make again for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEALUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This was pretty good. I think the brand of cake mix you use probably makes a difference. I altered slightly: for the filling I added 1 cup of whipping cream and an egg. Whipped it all together with the cream cheese and powdered sugar (didn't have any other) and it was fluffier. I baked it and it tasted good, but I think next time I'll leave off the top layer and freeze the bars instead. I think this could be interesting to try with chocolate cake mix or a cookie crust, and mint added to the filling in place of the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Great and easy lemon bars! I doubled the filling like others had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Easy to make and people seemed to enjoy them, but I personally wasn't too fond of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Super yummy - I used a yellow cake mix and added a package of lemon pudding. I also added a bit of yellow food coloring in the filling. These are light, and taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nkasper

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Very tasty. It does have a cake mix taste, but not overly so. I would make this again, though I think I'd double the filling. I also used a lemon box mix without pudding added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
definitely have to double the cream cheese,sugar and lemon juice (filling part) Also I buttered the glass casserole dish, cant imagine how it would have come out without doing so. But all in all for a quick recipe i think it is very good. p.s. I forgot that i added a tsp of vanilla and a tablespoon of butter to the filling :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States