Easy Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
These bars are really good despite how easy they are! I've found that to take away the "cake mix" flavor of the bars, I use a yellow cake mix and add a tablespoon of lemon juice, and a tsp. or so of lemon zest (or lemon extract works well if you don't have fresh lemon zest). To make these bars a bit prettier, I drizzle them lightly with a powdered sugar/lemon juice glaze, and cut them into diamonds or triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2000
Made these for a graduation party!!! Fabulous and so easy...I couldn't find a Lemon Cake mix with the pudding already in, so I added a small package of Lemon Instant pudding and it worked out great! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
very nice. Made exactly as stated but did add 1/2 tsp. lemon extract to the cream cheese layer and the grated peel from 1 lemon. These were not sweet and sickening, and had a wonderful lemon flavor with the zest. The cream cheese layer offset what could otherwise be a very sweet rich bar. I didn't think they tasted like cake mix at all. I would definitely make again. *Make sure they are completely cool before cutting. Thanks for the nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
I made these for a party, and was a little leery, only because I don't like making things for gatherings that I haven't tried before-it's so embarrassing to make something that turns out terrible. These are awesome. So much better than any lemon bar I have ever made, and I'm a huge lemon bar fan. So for those of you that are non-believers like me, this one rocks. As per other suggestions, I did double the filling, and added a little extra lemon (juice of two lemons, total) Perfect. I'd give it more than 5 stars if I could!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
This was a really good lemon bar recipe, however it really needs to have double the filling. Also, the amount of lemon juice the recipe calls for makes for a really mild lemony flavor. I would suggest, if you like the bars to be lemony, increasing the amount of lemon juice. We used 5 tbls in ours. This recipe passed my boyfriend's taste test--and we've been through every box recipe the stores have to offer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICYBLUEROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
I used a lemon cake mix and a small box of lemon pudding for the crust and then i doubled the filling, using juice from 3 lemons, it was a hit everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
A very quick and easy bar to make. Nice and light and lemony tasting. Cuts well for great presentation. Will definatly make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
These lemon bars turned out good, but I have a few complaints. The crust seemed a little dry and crumbly - even with the one cup of butter base ! The two lemons I used produced 8T of lemon juice, and it turned out just fine with adding additional flour. I recommend that you watch the bars, because the 20minutes recommended was too long, and the top really started to burn ! Overall, I would make these again. They had a good flavor - not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Very good. I did decrease sugar in cream cheese mixture to 1/4 cup, doubled juice and added lemon zest. Not too sweet as others had said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
We really enjoyed the recipe....very tasty, and so easy to make. We like ours a little more lemony so we used juice from two large lemons. Very good....A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States